SRS Not sure what to do in college (acamdemic planning)

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Legend Zero, Apr 6, 2009.

1. Legend Zero

Legend Zero OT Supporter

Currently I am a Psychology and Biochemistry undergraduate student. I Believe that I would like to be a clinical psychologist working with at risk adolescent youths. However, as many of you know, getting into clinical psychology seems to be very competitive. My cumulative GPA is low (3.0 exact) and my psychology GPA is nothing extraordinary (GPA=3.40). However, now comes the decision what to do for next year? Do I continue to stick it out with Biochem and Psychology and keep my psychology gpa at a 3.4 if not maybe a little higher (3.45) while possibly lowering my cumulative gpa since i tend to earn mostly C's and low B's in the biochem classes? OR, I can take a semester of full on psychology classes and try to raise my gpa considerably (cumulative and psychology specific)?

Why even consider biochemistry?
    Because it is something that I have always been interested in and continue to take interest. I have taken many science classes, and I want something to represent what I've ( a degree in biochemistry would do such) taken. I have put A LOT of work into these classes and feel like not attaining a degree that doesn't involve it in someway would be almost silly. Another big reason is that if for some reason I do not get into a clinical psychology program, I could find a job in a lab which would probably make me more eligible with a biochemistry degree; where there is not much i would want to do with psychology at the undergraduate level. Lastly, my reason is I am interested in also possibly doing teach for America for 2 years after my undergrad, and having a degree in biochemistry would allow me to teach sciences/math i would think, which is all i'd be interested in teaching.

What do you guys think i should do?
    Who can i really talk to about these actions?