Not only is XP faster, it's going to STAY faster.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by deusexaethera, Dec 4, 2007.

  1. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I read an article a couple of days ago that was talking about pre-release testing of XP Service Pack 3 vs. Vista Service Pack 1. Apparently XP sp3 is going to be around 10% faster than XP sp2, and Vista sp1 isn't going to be any faster at all.

    Microsoft is really shooting themselves in the balls with Vista. They should just take the 3D-accelerated GUI and backport it to XP, and call it a day.
     
  2. Dnepr

    Dnepr Guest

    I wish there was more support for x64 XP :hs:

    But since there is I have to use x64 vista POS :mad:
     
  3. ParTyBoy

    ParTyBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    29,540
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Basin City
    They won't, because then a large selling point of Vista would no longer exist.

    The same goes for DX10. Microsoft could release it for XP, but they don't want to as it would remove a reason to buy Vista.
     
  4. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio

    Somebody just posted that they were using x64 XP just the other day, and I asked them if they
    had any trouble finding drivers for it. A couple of posters all said that as long as your gear is up to date there's no problem at all.

    :dunno:
     
  5. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    That's not true at all - we've been screwed over by W2K3 64 bit so many times we've stopped installing it - it's always a driver issue.q
     
  6. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've got two file servers and two virtual machine server running W2k3x64, and while I did have to chase down 64-bit drivers for them, I didn't have any problems once I had the drivers I needed.
     
  7. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    I should clarify - the OS was fine, getting printer drivers for the network and having them deploy to the 32 bit clients is a pain.
     
  8. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I dunno, I didn't have any problem with that either. Maybe I'm just special.
     
  9. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    All depends on the printers. Older ones were easy, HP was pretty good (although we have one driver that acts like a virus - it crashes the spooler frequently), but some of the other name brand have not been as nice to use or find. Not really MS's fault mind you, but the slow to adopt drivers has been its Achilles heal
     
  10. Bencorn

    Bencorn New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ames, IA
    Any of you guys tried out XP SP3 yet? I downloaded it but haven't installed it yet. I was wondering what differences there are and if it is worth downloading?
     
  11. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have not tried it. I'll consider trying it when they start offering weekly patches for it as they weed out bugs, but they won't do that until it goes public.
     
  12. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    AFAIK, SP3 is still a beta and requires you to be part of the beta group or a you need a crack to install it.

    And plus, once it does go public, you'll have to remove the beta before you install the released one.

    Just wait until it comes out...
     
  13. Bencorn

    Bencorn New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ames, IA
    I'm going to reformat anyway next week so I think I'll install it just to dick around with for a while.
     
  14. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    So we'll see you in about a week then?

    :mamoru:
     
  15. Bencorn

    Bencorn New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ames, IA
    lol, I got a few computers, I won't be gone long
     
  16. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    These things can breed, man!

    :noes:
     
  17. Bencorn

    Bencorn New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ames, IA
    I'll keep it away from the others, I don't want my dell speds breeding with my custom built core2duo and producing some bastard child emachine.
     
  18. Deevan

    Deevan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    11,719
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL USA Posts: 4
    I'm using it now and it's a bit buggy. My explorer.exe keeps crashing when highlighting > 250 files. This is a clean install with only a few third party apps (friefox, VLC)
     

Share This Page