Not enough space, hard drive shows 100GB free.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by kmad86, Dec 12, 2008.

  1. kmad86

    kmad86 Swine Epidemic Survival Crew '09 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    15,291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ft. Smith, AR
    So, my computer has been throwing the rainbow wheel a lot lately and I have to manually power it off. I run DiskWarrior and it fixes it for 1-3 days and it is back again. When I try to download something online (tried downloading all of apples updates from their site) it tells me that I don't have enough space. I tried downloading a 2MB Sirius Internet Player and it told me the same thing. Is my hard drive done?

    I am not home right now but I remember seeing some random .plist files that DiskWarrior said they couldn't repair. Also, something about a number on the hard drive was 22 and it wasn't the maximum that was required. I wish I were home to be more specific on that error. I will edit in a little while.
     
  2. supergper

    supergper New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    This may be too obvious but have you emptied your trash? Even though it'll show available, that space will not release until you empty your trash.
     
  3. kmad86

    kmad86 Swine Epidemic Survival Crew '09 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    15,291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ft. Smith, AR
    Nope, no trash.
     
  4. Devoidarex

    Devoidarex Rexversusu v.2.0

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    10,774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pacific South-West
    Any old systems on the drive? Did you ever do an 'archive and install' of a version of OSX on that drive?
     
  5. kmad86

    kmad86 Swine Epidemic Survival Crew '09 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    15,291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ft. Smith, AR
    Yes, I think I did. Where would it be stored?
     
  6. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    It was be on the MacHD, under previous installs
     
  7. Devoidarex

    Devoidarex Rexversusu v.2.0

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    10,774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pacific South-West
    Exactly. They can take up quite a bit of HD space, but I'm not sure if it would have anything to do with your problem.

    No reason to keep an old system if your new one has been up and running a while.
     

Share This Page