Not able to connect to any SMTP server?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by onedownfiveup, Jul 24, 2007.

  1. onedownfiveup

    onedownfiveup Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Messages:
    18,222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KC
    I reformatted my computer a while back and now I can't get my outlook to send email at all. I have 5 email accounts two different servers and both won't send email and I'm using the right smtp. I can receive email, but can't send.

    Any one ever have this problem?
     
  2. KungFool7

    KungFool7 keep driving—it's getting earlier

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    check the option to auth. with the server.
     
  3. KungFool7

    KungFool7 keep driving—it's getting earlier

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh, also make sure that your mailbox is set as your default account and not your personal folders.

    I did have a customer with that same problem. I'd almost guarantee it's one of those 2.
     
  4. onedownfiveup

    onedownfiveup Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Messages:
    18,222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KC
    It says deliever email to the following :personal folders:

    There is no there option

    I had the authorization checked already.
     
  5. KungFool7

    KungFool7 keep driving—it's getting earlier

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    outlook? outlook express? what version?


    in your mailbox listing, one of them should say "send from this account as default"
     
  6. KungFool7

    KungFool7 keep driving—it's getting earlier

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    and what are the other symptoms? do you get an error message?


    Do the messages just sit in your outbox with no error message?
     
  7. onedownfiveup

    onedownfiveup Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Messages:
    18,222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KC
    Outlook 2002

    I get an error and it sits in the outbox.

    Sending error (0x80042109) outlook is unable to connect to outgoing mail server.

    I'm using both homestead and comcast as my mail. BOTH outgoing servers are not connecting.
     
  8. KungFool7

    KungFool7 keep driving—it's getting earlier

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    the default mailbox fix is usually when the messages just sit in your outbox with no error message.

    Have to tried pinging the servers or calling comcast?

    Do they require authentication? have you tried that?
     
  9. onedownfiveup

    onedownfiveup Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Messages:
    18,222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KC
    I called Comcast and went through the setup with them and they told me the outlook program is the problem. I then tried Eudora and the same thing happened.
     
  10. KungFool7

    KungFool7 keep driving—it's getting earlier

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    ping the servers, see if you've got the name right. something like smtp.comcast.com ?

    check the option to authenticate.
     
  11. onedownfiveup

    onedownfiveup Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Messages:
    18,222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KC
    How do I ping the server?

    It's smtp.comcast.net
     
  12. KungFool7

    KungFool7 keep driving—it's getting earlier

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    start--> run ping smtp.comcast.net

    if you can receive and are online, you can probably ping it. that was mainly just to see if you spelled it right.


    they didn't tell you to authenticate with the server?

    would you be able to post screenshots?
     
  13. Slid.

    Slid. I'm a guy.

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,928
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NH
    Is this computer at home? Is it on a comcast network?

    Sometimes you can't use an SMTP server if you're not using that providers "service."
     
  14. onedownfiveup

    onedownfiveup Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Messages:
    18,222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KC
    I'll post screen shots in a second.
     
  15. onedownfiveup

    onedownfiveup Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Messages:
    18,222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KC
    It's actually at my shop I have three computers connected to a router and then connected the comcast cable modem.
     
  16. onedownfiveup

    onedownfiveup Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Messages:
    18,222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KC
  17. KungFool7

    KungFool7 keep driving—it's getting earlier

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    ah, i meant of your settings.
     
  18. onedownfiveup

    onedownfiveup Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Messages:
    18,222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KC
  19. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    try running this in a command prompt:
    Code:
    telnet smtp.comcast.com 25
     
  20. onedownfiveup

    onedownfiveup Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Messages:
    18,222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KC
    Could not open port connection failed.
     
  21. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    a router/firewall is blocking port 25 communication.
     
  22. KungFool7

    KungFool7 keep driving—it's getting earlier

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    jolly, you make my phallus upright.
     
  23. onedownfiveup

    onedownfiveup Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Messages:
    18,222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KC
    So how would I unblock port 25?
     
  24. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    well, that depends who's blocking it. Comcast is your isp from the machine you're trying to connect from? What routers/firewalls do you have?
     
  25. onedownfiveup

    onedownfiveup Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2005
    Messages:
    18,222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KC

    I'm connected to a D-Link EBR-2310 That's the only firewall have
     

Share This Page