Norton Speed disk gets stuck.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Achance007, Jun 19, 2003.

  1. Achance007

    Achance007 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2000
    Messages:
    16,128
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    New Castle, DE
    I don't want to hear about how norton 2003 sucks or anything.

    But lately when I try to run speed disk overnight I'll come back in the morning and it is still running with only 57% complete. And it won't ever change. So i'll cancel it and try again but next time it will get stuck in a different spot, like at 30%. I can run Windows defrag fine with no problems, but i'll try to run norton right afterwards and it still gets stuck. Is my HD fawked up or is it just norton?
     
  2. unrealii

    unrealii professor of plant biology

    Joined:
    May 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,037
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    So CALI
    I dunno, but my hard drive was already fcuked up with a bunch of bad sectors, I ran disk doctor and checked auto fix, it fucking deleted all of my file names with bad sectors call, so I had to use scan disk to search all of the fragments and ended up with 10,000 chk files. Norton's not on my good side right now
     
  3. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    :dunno: I've never had a problem with speed disk - are you critically low on hard drive space?

    try running disk doctor first to see if you have any problems

    PS. this is on winXP right?
     
  4. Achance007

    Achance007 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2000
    Messages:
    16,128
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    New Castle, DE
    i was low on HD space. down to 2gb on a 20gb drive. But I bought an external drive and copied most of my porn/mp3s/comics/movies to that. So now I have 12 gb free.
    I'll restart and have Disk doc check the drive at start up and see what it says.
     
  5. Achance007

    Achance007 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2000
    Messages:
    16,128
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    New Castle, DE
    yeah its xp
     
  6. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    ugh norton products suck unless its their virus scanner....

    :greddy2:
     
  7. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,454
    Likes Received:
    278
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    That sucks too. Too resource heavy. Too fucking many registry entries. But at least its better than McCrappy.
     
  8. Scn64

    Scn64 Guest

    I had problems with speed disk too. It didn't get stuck or anything but, when it finished I had windows check the fragmentation level of the drive. I expected it to be very low since Norton had just defragmented it, but it was actually much higher than it was before I ran Speed disk.
     
  9. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    my nav isnt resource heavy at all!

    im running NAV 2000 Corporate, ver 7.51.847, it uses 3% cpu and 2mb ram.

    thats super light.
     
  10. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    hmm, I checked Norton's site but they don't mention this problem - they do talk about the higher fragmentation level after a defrag but not this.
     
  11. Achance007

    Achance007 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2000
    Messages:
    16,128
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    New Castle, DE
    I ran disk doctor at start up and the only error i saw before I went to bed was \windows\memory.dmp but it claimed to fix it. And I tried speed disk again and it actually completed the scan. So I guess disk doctor fixed my problem
     

Share This Page