norton ghost experts: problem after hdd copy

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by spankaveli, Jan 24, 2007.

  1. spankaveli

    spankaveli OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    16,466
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    LA. State, not City.
    I went into ghost, went to copy my hard drive (advanced), chose Set Active Drive & Copy MBR.

    I dont think those options have anything to do with whats going on. The computer boots fine and goes to the user screen but no users are displayed, nor is the shutdown option at the bottom left. I can't use ctrl+alt+del to get to the user prompt, either. same in safe mode.

    Anyone?
     
  2. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same problem last time I used Ghost. Unfortunately, it's just not as good of a product as it used to be. Try using MSBackup's Automated System Restore function to copy your drive, then use Norton PartitionMagic to expand the old partition to fit your new drive.
     
  3. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    fuck all that

    ACRONIS FTMWF

    /thread
     
  4. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    So glad I still use Ghost 2003.
     
  5. TheDarkHorizon

    TheDarkHorizon \xC0\xFF\xEE

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    2,396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Not sure why you decided to create a new thread instead of continuing your other thread, but are both drives still plugged in when you're booting? What kind of drives are these?
     
  6. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's the one I can't get to work anymore. It HATES the FireWire controllers that my office workstations are equipped with. Actually, it hates the USB controllers too. I can't find a damn thing to plug my backup drives into that it won't fail to detect 9 times out of 10.
     
  7. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    I haven't had much success with USB drives either (or firewire I'm sure). Even some SATA raid controllers fuck it up.
     
  8. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    It was my understanding that SATA controllers (at least those that don't emulate IDE controllers on the motherboard side) aren't even supported by Ghost. It's almost like they're abandoning the product.
     
  9. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    There was a patch to the exe file to work with SATA but it doesn't solve all problems. I have a feeling the main ghost guy moved on because it doesn't feel like it used to either.
     

Share This Page