Noob needs help!

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by MR. Marti, Feb 28, 2008.

  1. MR. Marti

    MR. Marti New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    14,193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Florida
    Ok so I got a steal on a Pioneer PDP433CMX. I am trying to use it for my XBOX 360. I have the HD cables for it. Set it to Hd and all and don't get anything.

    I bought the BNC to RCA style adapters for the R B G and just can't get it going. What am I missing? What connection do I need?

    Any help is greatly appreciated folks.

    Here is a link I found with details on the monitor.

    http://www.plasma.com/pioneerplasma/pioneerchart.htm
     
  2. MR. Marti

    MR. Marti New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    14,193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Florida
    here are the plugs if it helps...

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    those are NOT traditional component plugs. BNC R/G/B/HD/VD is a different form-factor for a DB-15 VGA connection. It's not gonna work without a converter box.
     
  4. MR. Marti

    MR. Marti New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    14,193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Florida
    really? You're the first person to tell me it wouldn't work. Several have said it will and even the guy at Radio Shack said he has a Dell setup the same way.....
    Can you link to the type of converter box you're talking about?
     
  5. IceMurder

    IceMurder Guest

    tried using different cables, composite maybe? hdmi? dvi? have any of those to test?
     
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    you trusted a guy at radioshack :mamoru: :nono:

    It works fine if it's a COMPONENT input... but it is NOT.

    This is the cable that those connectors are designed for:
    [​IMG]

    If you look at the pinout of a DB-15 connector used for VGA, you'll see how it correlates:

    Used Pin Signal
    T1 1 Red Video
    T2 2 Green Video
    T3 3 Blue Video
    4 Monitor ID - Bit 2
    5 Ground
    R1 6 Red Ground
    R2 7 Green Ground
    R3 8 Blue Ground
    9 [KEY]
    R4/5 10 Sync Ground
    11 Monitor ID - Bit 1
    12 Monitor ID - Bit 0
    T4 13 Horizontal Sync
    T5 14 Vertical Sync
    15 N/C (Reserved)

    R = T1/R1
    G = T2/R2
    B = T3/R3
    HD = T4/R4
    VD = T5/R5


    If you wanted it to work, you need a converter such as this:

    [​IMG]

    And you would also need one of the cables I posted earlier.

    They are not cheap. Expect to pay $150-200 for the converter and $20-40 for the cable.
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2008
  7. IceMurder

    IceMurder Guest

    whats the point in having all that shit?? why didnt they just use a regular component input on the tv?
     
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    depends on what the unit is designed for. My understanding is that it wasn't neccessarily designed for normal tv/dvd use but was more for industrial/commercial applications.
     

Share This Page