noob looking to get a system

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by nygiantplaya, Jun 14, 2008.

1. nygiantplaya

nygiantplaya I

:) im a noob at this but i got some money and i wanted to put a system in my car. Now i dont know ANYTHING about systems but i am looking to get a Good Sub or maybe even two depending on what you all recommend, a good amp and anything else you guys recommend. Oh and should i get new speakers too?

2. nygiantplaya

nygiantplaya I

oh and i drive a 2008 cobalt 2 door if that helps anyone and my budget is really anything (not super exspensive though). yes yes laugh at my car, but im not a baller OT.

3. MaximaDrvr

MaximaDrvr Member

What is super expensive. We could recommend $2000 front door speakers.
    We need a peak, or target price when all is said and done.

You are looking for probably the following:
    Head Unit
    Front Components
    Rear Coax
    4 channel and mono amp or 5-6 channel amp
    sub or subs.

4. P07r0457

P07r0457 New Member

you might consider keeping the factory head unit. it looks nice in the cobalt.

5. nygiantplaya

nygiantplaya I

I was planning to keep it as long as I can hook the system up to it, and I am looking to spend around $1000 total

6. P07r0457

P07r0457 New Member

yes you can hook up to the factory head unit. Just need a LOC. Should be under $20 at any car audio place.

$1000 should get you a great system for daily use.

7. JRock10

JRock10 Active Member

if you plan to upgrade everything, I'd look into one of the high end convertor/processors. Something like a Memphis 6ix, RF 360 or JL Cleansweep. Many OEM headunits have circuits built in to reduce bass output at higher volumes.

8. nygiantplaya

nygiantplaya I

ic, idk anything but when i turn it up like 3/4 of the way the bass is loud as fuck so idk if it really reduces the output. but what do ik!

the only thing is the head unit looks nice i wouldnt really wana take it out.

9. twistid

twistid Banged By Super Models Moderator