Noob here. My laptop with XP crashed.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by meow, Oct 23, 2007.

1. meow

meow OT Supporter

Ok so heres the deal. I've had this laptop for about 5 years so its outdated basically but still gets the job done at college instead of having my sexy desktop here. when i was in high school they gave everyone these dell laptops too use and when we graduated we kept them. But, the shitty part is that it doesn't have a floppy drive, or a cd drive cause they only let us keep the 2 batteries instead of giving a cd drive :ugh:. And now Windows finally crapped on me. it tells me the UNMOUNTABLE_BOOT_VOLUME error each time i restart it. i cant get in safemode or anything, same error for each option.

Is there any way to boot from a ipod (USB) if i put windows on it and fix it or reinstall windows, or am i shit out of luck? or any other way to fix it? like what if i took out the harddrive, put it in my desktop and reinstalled windows on it and then put it back in? i dont know, im just thinking of anything cause i really need it even though it is garbage and im too poor to get a new one until my parents get me one for christmas or soemthin :hs:.

any help please.

2. Sexual Vanilla

Sexual Vanilla New Member

Doesn't sound like Windows crapped out...sounds like your hard drive crashed. Listen to see if you can hear the hard drive spin up when you boot the computer. If so, boot into bios and make sure you have the correct boot device order configured.

3. dk01

dk01 Awwwwww..... OT Supporter