Nokia N95

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by UsualSuspect, Jan 9, 2008.

  1. UsualSuspect

    UsualSuspect Sic Semper Tyrannis

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2000
    Messages:
    3,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    United States of America
    Roommate is looking at getting a N95. Can I get some help on how this would work?

    -He would buy an unlocked phone from ebay.

    -Start service with Tmobile and a free phone

    -Put SIM card in the N95

    Would he need to add an unlimited data package or what?

    Many thanks!
     
  2. BlackWRX02

    BlackWRX02 OTs Cingular Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,642
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Daytona
    1. Careful, LOTS of fakes. If its too good of a price to be true, it probably is
    2. Sure
    3. Yes
    4. Yes, he's buying a $700 phone, spring for the unl. data plan :uh:


    Which version is he getting? Original N95-1, N95 8gb (n95-2), or N95-3 (3g)

    just announced n95-8g with us 3g (not that tmo has 3g :mamoru: )
     
  3. UsualSuspect

    UsualSuspect Sic Semper Tyrannis

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2000
    Messages:
    3,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    United States of America
    I think he is going to wait for the US 3G.

    Thanks for help :bigthumb:
     
  4. ButtPirate666

    ButtPirate666 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5,421
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ireland
    Definatly not worth getting without the 3g.
     
  5. gsxspeeddemon

    gsxspeeddemon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    he's going with tmobile? HOW SHITTY!!! HAHAHAHAHAHAHA

    besides their laughable voice network that doesn't work outside of a major street in a major metro... You're stuck on the shittiest data network in the country.

    this is too good. in for failure.
     
  7. BlackWRX02

    BlackWRX02 OTs Cingular Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,642
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Daytona

    Should work just fine with Sprint:eek4:
     
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    will not work with sprint.
     
  9. gsxspeeddemon

    gsxspeeddemon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Called sprint and they said it would work with them. Called twice and spoke to two different people. I also called dell, where i am buying it from, and they said they guarantee that it will work.
     
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    well prove me wrong then... because as it stands right now, i think you're an idiot.

    It's a GSM/UMTS phone...
     
  11. gsxspeeddemon

    gsxspeeddemon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    No need to be an asshole, asshole. I simply stated what they told me and what they guaranteed me.
     
  12. Zak8022

    Zak8022 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Isn't there a new N95... a World Edition or some such? Maybe that is what the Sprint people were talking about... and Jolly is talking about the old(er) one?


    Basically, you're probably both right. Sprint (and fuck ass Verizon) use CDMA, and usually get the shit phones, or it takes forever for a manufacturer to make a CDMA version (like my Blackberry 8130).
     
  13. skatmand

    skatmand New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
  14. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I have a 8130... and I love it. I'd rather wait a little longer and get a better phone on a better network.

    Sprint's network beats the shit out of at&t/tmobile.

    the 8130 is a better phone than the 8100.
     
  15. BlackWRX02

    BlackWRX02 OTs Cingular Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,642
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Daytona
    I know sprint has a dual network phone for use overseas, but I'm 99% sure that the GSM portion of the phone does not work here, its only for roaming internationally


    I think you're out of luck for using it on Sprint. There is NO CDMA version of the n95 out, they are all GSM.
     
  16. bowrofl

    bowrofl New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canadia
    I'm in Canada, and I found a N95-3 unlocked for $499...currently shopping for a new phone :x:
     

Share This Page