No WAN IP?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Kieffer87, Jul 2, 2008.

  1. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    Running ddwrtv24 firmware on a linksys router, it worked fine and then all the sudden the internet came to a crawl than stopped all together. When I logged into the router I wasn't getting a WAN ip, so I tried resetting to factory defaults, doing a hard reset, and tried a different Belkin router also tried reseting the modem. Nothing worked all the wan ip, dns, etc are just blank or 0.0.0.0. The weird thing is I can plug my laptop directly into the modem and get an ip just fine. Any suggestions or things to try before calling the cable company?
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    unplug router for 30 seconds, unplug modem for 30 seconds.

    leave router unplugged but plug modem back in. wait for all lights to become solid.

    plug router back in and wait for it to boot.

    It should work now.
     
  3. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    I tried that several times with no luck. I ended up switching off the power strip which they were both plugged into and switching it back on so they booted up at the same time. This ended up working.

    Not quite sure why this would have worked because in theory it should have worked your way too. I guess we will see how long this lasts.
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    because you didn't leave them unplugged long enough.
     
  5. Limp_Brisket

    Limp_Brisket New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    48,422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    :rolleyes:
     
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    do you understand what happens when you unplug and leave it unplugged? do you know WHY you have to leave it unplugged for a relatively long period of time? Learn the answer to that and you'll understand why I said what I said.
     
  7. Limp_Brisket

    Limp_Brisket New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    48,422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    yes i do, and i still think you're an idiot.
     
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    then you do not know what happens. :hsugh:
     
  9. Vito_Corleone

    Vito_Corleone New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    29,356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Leave it unplugged for longer. P07 is a douche, but he's probably right. Your modem needs to flush the CPE MAC.
     
  10. Limp_Brisket

    Limp_Brisket New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    48,422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    i was mocking p07numbers because i had this exact same problem which in my case was caused by a sudden degradation in cable signal quality (for who knows why, comcast claims weather) and I had to end up using a different cable jack in my apartment that was wired better. I could have power cycled my cable modem correctly all day and never received an IP address.

    ...so for p073423i4 to accuse the thread starter of not doing it right when JUST PERHAPS the problem wasn't what p8343ii9 had assumed it was is asinine.
     
  11. Vito_Corleone

    Vito_Corleone New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    29,356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    It wouldn't be the exact same problem unless you were able to bypass your router with a computer, get an IP and have internet connectivity. And if that were the case, it wouldn't be a signal issue.
     
  12. tyrionlannister

    tyrionlannister New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    I'm really loving this vbulletin extension for firefox. It's kind of funny to read a thread just to see rolling eyes and "that guy's a douche"
     
  13. Ameter

    Ameter Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    97,795
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    your linksys router is shit. Trash it and get a D-Link
     

Share This Page