no internet access but can ping websites

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by JGAC, Nov 22, 2007.

  1. JGAC

    JGAC Vin Diesel is.... OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Messages:
    11,369
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    I came home for break and my dad's computer is at again.:rofl:

    IE and Firefox can't get on the internet but I can ping google.com

    I'm about to reformat his laptop if I can find the disc.
     
  2. JGAC

    JGAC Vin Diesel is.... OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Messages:
    11,369
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    works in safe mode, so now I'm going to see if I can find out what process is causing the problem.

    I stil just want to reformat.
     
  3. nathanb

    nathanb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Sounds like you have a firewall that is blocking incoming connections.
     
  4. JGAC

    JGAC Vin Diesel is.... OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Messages:
    11,369
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    actually that was it.

    got it b/c norton was blocking it.
     
  5. nathanb

    nathanb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    I swear, Norton is the worst thing you can do to your computer, save from getting a hammer and smashing it up physically.
     
  6. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Nah - Norton's worse - at least with a hammer you know what the problem is.
     
  7. nathanb

    nathanb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Yeah you have a point there.
     
  8. Coottie

    Coottie BOOMER......SOONER OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    32,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    OKC
    :rofl::bowdown:
     
  9. nsxrebel

    nsxrebel New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, I have a similar problem with my brother's Notebook. It's Fujitsu Lifebook. IE will not connect. my wireless network is detected, it connects but will not access the internet. I booted in Safe Mode and IE works just fine. I downloaded SpyBot S&D, and Adaware, and it found some malware. cleaned that up, but it still won't connect in Normal Mode. My brother did have Norton installed, I'll uninstall that and try again. any other tips?
     
  10. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    hit it with a hammer next. then we can tell you exactly what is wrong.
     
  11. JGAC

    JGAC Vin Diesel is.... OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Messages:
    11,369
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    Check other anti-virus/firewalll software?

    Reformat is an option thats always there
     
  12. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try using NoNav.exe to completely remove all Norton products.
     
  13. nsxrebel

    nsxrebel New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,272
    Likes Received:
    0
    LOL, so I uninstalled that Norton crap, and I don't know if that fixed it, but IE is working now! Now I'm trying to delete an account I made with admin privileges, and stupid XP won't let me. The notebook only had the Administrator account, so I made another one, which now i can't delete. WTF? any recommendations?

    Oh yeah, my brother doesn't like Apple for some reason, yet he's the only one that consistently keeps having problems. The rest of the house is Apple. Him out of all the people should know how Macs are good. He just graduated from the Art Institute of California in graphic animation. He chose to get a Fujitsu Crapbook because he wanted to use some XP specific sw.

    Granted, Intel Macs weren't out yet I think when he bought it. Just by going through his programs folder, he uses Adobe CS3, 3ds Max 8, Maya 8.5, Adobe aftereffects. oh well.
     
  14. JaJae

    JaJae New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Norton is such a joke.
     
  15. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can't delete an account that has been used since the computer was last rebooted. Reboot, log in as Administrator, and then delete the account.

    Fujitsu Lifebooks are good machines; you're letting your uninformed Apple fanboyism get in the way.
     
  16. nsxrebel

    nsxrebel New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,272
    Likes Received:
    0
    :jerkit: Maybe Fujitsu HW is good, but still XP can be a PITA if you don't know what you're doing. It requires alot more attention to keep it running at optimum performance. My brother may know how to do all that rendering and animation, but he doesn't know shit about system settings, maintenance, malware, updates, and whatnot. He had spyware and other crap on his computer, and he wasn't even aware of it.
     
  17. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any OS can be a PITA if you don't know what you're doing. I'll give you the point that Apple is a user-interface manufacturer, so they get that part right, but the underlying OS isn't inherently superior to XP.

    As for your brother not knowing shit about how his computer works, that's his problem, not Microsoft's. There are so many resources online to learn about how to twiggle XP's settings if you need to, the only thing I can think of is he was avoiding learning anything because he didn't want to.
     
  18. retorq

    retorq What up bitch??

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mohave Desert
    Which you don't.

     
  19. nsxrebel

    nsxrebel New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I figured it out. :fawk: I don't use XP, so how the fuck was I supposed to know it was Norton that was fucking shit up? Shit wouldn't even let me uninstall it.
     

Share This Page