No display when booting v. not a noob

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by illectronic, Aug 13, 2009.

  1. illectronic

    illectronic I'm Coming Home OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    16,950
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    Ok, so I opened up my tower to clean out all the dust. Took out everything and reconnected it. While I was taking off my cpu heatsink i may have fucked with a capacitor on the motherboard and it's bent out of shape. However it is still attached.

    I tried booting with just ram, just video card, etc.. No display, no post beep. The only thing I could think off that is fucked is either CPU or Mobo. Can it be anything else? What does OT Think?

    edit: fans all work. Hard drive spins up. (gets power)
     
  2. DigiCrime

    DigiCrime If Only!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    32,996
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    St. Louis
    CPU get warm when its on?
     
  3. 7960

    7960 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    60,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    #1. I have never seen dust be the problem. I have VERY often seen someone having tried to clean the dust out be the problem.


    yeah yeah, you're not a noob. you sure you didn't knock the video cable loose when you moved the tower?
     
  4. illectronic

    illectronic I'm Coming Home OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    16,950
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    The heatsink you mean? No, I had it on for about 5 minutes.

    I did put on some thermal paste though. It wasn't working before I put it on either
     
  5. illectronic

    illectronic I'm Coming Home OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    16,950
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    None of the chipset heatsinks are getting warm either
     
  6. illectronic

    illectronic I'm Coming Home OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    16,950
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    pci x16 gfx card is getting warm though
     
  7. illectronic

    illectronic I'm Coming Home OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    16,950
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    Common man, gimme a break. Of course thats not it.
     
  8. illectronic

    illectronic I'm Coming Home OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    16,950
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    Pretty sure mobo/cpu is fucked. Fuck it this POS was slow as fuck anyways. First gen dual core. AMD 64 x2.

    I'll gut the 750gb sata drive and the video card and build something else when I get the cash. For now installing bootcamp on my macbook to run the 2 programs I use to download fucking media.
     
  9. DigiCrime

    DigiCrime If Only!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    32,996
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    St. Louis
    mobo is probably f'd then if nothing is getting warm.
     
  10. 7960

    7960 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    60,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    :rolleyes:


    I know more "experts" that forget to plug shit in.......




    look at he tops of the capacitors. are any of them crowned/bowed/"puffed" out?
     
  11. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    Definitely a mobi issue
     
  12. illectronic

    illectronic I'm Coming Home OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    16,950
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    Yup. I'm almost certain that's the fuckup. Here is where I'm definitley not an expert. Is it easy to fix?
     
  13. 7960

    7960 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    60,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    they look like this?

    [​IMG]

    or this

    [​IMG]

    very easy..........replace the motherboard!
     
  14. Thor

    Thor OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    19,337
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    I'm having the same problem actually. Just swapped mobo's (same model..etc), and it still isnt working. Swapped my video card for a PCI one and still nothing.

    CPU still heats up. :dunno:
     
  15. illectronic

    illectronic I'm Coming Home OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    16,950
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    I;m going to take a pic. 1 sec
     
  16. illectronic

    illectronic I'm Coming Home OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    16,950
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    Pics aren't coming up right, but it doesn't look like the leaking capicitors above. The capacitor just has a deep scratch from a flathead screwdriver. I'm not sure if anything else is fucked. I took it apart and that deep scratch is all I see.
     
  17. illectronic

    illectronic I'm Coming Home OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    16,950
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    Well, I may upgrade shortly when I have some cash coming in. If monry wasn't an issue I'd already be ordering parts.

    At this point I just want to learn a little.
     
  18. awns729

    awns729 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe he can just replace the capacitor if that's it? But not sure if that is the problem. You reset CMOS? Power issue maybe? Is the 4 pin CPU power plugged in? Unplug everything and leave it off for a day. Sometimes even ram can build up a charge and need to be discharged. Try other working ram.
     
  19. illectronic

    illectronic I'm Coming Home OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    16,950
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    i reset the cmos already. 4 pin cpu power is plugged in. It's been off for more than a day. I will try again when I get home from work.
     

Share This Page