A&P Nikonians who shoot 14 bit...

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by Girth, May 3, 2009.

  1. Girth

    Girth ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    71,388
    Likes Received:
    102
    Location:
    Houston
    Compressed or uncompressed? Which one do you shoot and do you notice that much of a difference since there's a decent amount of difference between 12 and 14 bit already.

    And, go!
     
  2. TheManLouisianaFace

    TheManLouisianaFace and decide!

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    32,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    I always shoot the best quality. Even if I don't notice it, it's why I spent all the money and storage is dirt cheap. :dunno:
     
  3. TheManLouisianaFace

    TheManLouisianaFace and decide!

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    32,995
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. GlobeGuy

    GlobeGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,974
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been researching D300 heavily past few days and people have said the same thing as the link you provided regarding 12 vs 14bit.
     
  5. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    i shoot compressed raw 12 bit most of the time.

    but when i care enough to shoot 14 bit i go straight for the uncompressed goodness :yum:

    i'll prob shoot 14-bit uncompressed all summer in europe. i'm going to be making some big prints of those images :bowdown:
     
  6. Wheezer

    Wheezer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,629
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    Never shot 14bit for the same reasons listed in the article TheManLouisianaFace posted.
     
  7. EWhytsell

    EWhytsell New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,296
    Likes Received:
    0
    the higher bit is gonna give a higher color gamut, but thats not something you can really use on a printer or monitor anyway so the only real point in shooting at a high bit is the processing and how much more you can stretch an image.

    Now this isn't important for daytime photography, but there is a definite reason that I use the highest bit possible when doing astrophotography and anyone doing those processes will notice very quickly the difference. The difference between 8 and 16 bit is huge and I process images in FITS format at 32bit. Like someone said storage space is cheap.

    Besides I shoot canon so I get 8 bit jpegs which are worthless or 14bit RAW, which would you use:)
     
  8. Etherized

    Etherized Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    6,484
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    14 bit, uncompressed for posterity. Why not, I have tons of memory..
     
  9. Girth

    Girth ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    71,388
    Likes Received:
    102
    Location:
    Houston
    thats my thought process. :dunno:
     
  10. themolsen

    themolsen New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    7,414
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    well when it slows the camera down that much, that seems like a shitty tradeoff
     
  11. Girth

    Girth ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    71,388
    Likes Received:
    102
    Location:
    Houston
    Slows the D300 down, but not the D700. 300 stays on 12 bit. :o
     

Share This Page