A&P Nikon Flashes

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by CombatWombat, May 10, 2007.

1. CombatWombat

CombatWombat oh shit, zombies bro

I want a flash, most likely either the SB600 or SB800.

But I'm no pro and have very little experience with flashes.

What's the main difference between them?

How does the wireless feature work on the SB800? Does it need a IR trigger on the camera, or any other equipment?

I'd mainly be using it as a fill, at a variety of lengths, if at all possible with the flash mounted off the camera. This makes the 'wireless' feature sound appealing, but largely the SB800 seems the same as the SB600.

I use a D80, btw.

Just looking for experience and advice, on either the two mentioned flashes, or something similar?

2. Mr_Penut

Mr_Penut Elitist Member OT Supporter

i use nikon flashes

nikon>canon:bowdown:

the sb-800 is nice

3. tenplanescrashing

tenplanescrashing Active Member

i've used both but i still find the sb800 to be a better bang for the buck. I just don't really care for the sb600

4. Blair

Blair New Member

for what you are doing it would probably be sufficent to just get a sb-600 and learn some techniques first and foremost.

5. CombatWombat

Well, I have technique (to a point). I have a Canon AE1 Program, with a flash, however, it's a bargain basement, cheap as fuck mess about flash. Which doesn't really behave with the D80.

However, you point is still valid.

6. 1992 240SX

1992 240SX New Member

Get the SB-800. I just bought one last weekend and so far I'm loving it. For some reason I can't get the wireless to work on my D70s thought (help!). I've never really used the 600 but if you're dropping down a lot of money on a flash you might as well get the better of the two so you don't feel like you could have had a better flash later on.

7. 19Godfather86

19Godfather86 New Member