A&P Nikon D300 Time Lapse of My Morning

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by redna, Aug 12, 2008.

  1. redna

    redna New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,614
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was bored, and I couldn't sleep, so I took out the D300 for a little time lapse stuff...

    nothing too terribly interesting, but I'll be doing more of this soon... It was a fun way to kill about 5 hours. :noes:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yAyS0FeAtEI


    ***EDIT So you don't have to dig through the thread ***

    I used Windows movie maker to make mine. You can use Imovie on a mac.


    For any of you that want to do this that don't have movie software, it can be accomplished in Adobe Photoshop CS3.


    File > Scripts > Load Files into Stack > Follow prompts and select all your photos

    Then:

    Window > Workspace > Video and Film

    Then in the "frames" window:

    Click the little menu icon at the top right (just below the X to close that specific window) > Make Frames From Layers

    Then:
    File > Export > Render Video



    Reasons to do this in Photoshop:
    It allows for cropping without the loss of quality.
    It assigns one picture per frame (which any of the free software I've found doesn't do)
    It lets you export to formats like .avi and .mov if you want high quality vids

    Reasons not to do this in Photoshop:
    Jesus, it takes forever..
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2008
  2. rallysport

    rallysport New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know nothing about time lapse but that was pretty damn cool!
     
  3. redna

    redna New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,614
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks :) :wavey:
     
  4. aCab

    aCab New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    18,292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicaaago
    Noice
     
  5. Twisted STi

    Twisted STi All wheel or no wheel OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    12,254
    Likes Received:
    0
    texting while driving asshole :fawk:
     
  6. redna

    redna New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,614
    Likes Received:
    0
    Haha.. you're the second person that's called me on that...


    I have mad l33t multi-tasking skills...
     
  7. EWhytsell

    EWhytsell New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats a really cool thing to do. I should do that of my day:) hehe then people can see how easy us copier guys have it.

    Evan
     
  8. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    don't text while you drive bro.

    cool, i wanna do this one day in atlanta
     
  9. FlashhslaF

    FlashhslaF New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    4,586
    Likes Received:
    0
    details on camera setup?
     
  10. redna

    redna New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,614
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nikon D300
    50mm 1.4
    Tripod.

    That's it.

    I set it on Aperture priority because I was shooting through a chain link fence and I wanted a shallow enough DoF to make it disappear and let the camera figure the rest out.

    I wish the fence wouldn't have been there. I would have used something like f8 instead of f1.4 :hsd:
     
  11. FlashhslaF

    FlashhslaF New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    4,586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you leave in Av mode when you had it in your car as well? how many shots did you take and what was the delay after each shot?
     
  12. redna

    redna New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,614
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah it was in A the whole time i believe.

    The car sequence was 400 shots 1 frame every 2 seconds; the traffic was 450 shots, 1 fps; and the sunrise was 500 shots, 1 frame every 10 seconds.

    I just figure out the event length (so let's say a sunrise is 45 min, or 2700 seconds) then figure out how long i want the video clip to be (15 seconds at 30 fps is 450 total frames) then i divide the event time by the total frames and come out to my increment. 2700/450=6. So, 1 frame every 6 seconds makes an even video of a 45 minute sunrise.
     
  13. alexromo

    alexromo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,571
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wahiawa
    did you have it set with some software or something?

    i guess i can do remote capture and set it up to take a frame every now and then
     
  14. redna

    redna New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,614
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope. It's built-in to the D300... programmable from the menu.

    Shooting Menu > Interval Timer Shooting
     
  15. ThexToddster

    ThexToddster New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    20,748
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Woodcrest, CA
  16. MastaCow

    MastaCow I love cup.

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    38,335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    did you have to use a specific software to compile all the images into a video?

    I want to try this with mine.
     
  17. redna

    redna New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,614
    Likes Received:
    0
    Windows Movie Maker.

    You have to go to:

    Tools > Options > Advanced > Set pic to lowest value. (.125)

    Then import your pics into collections > Arrange by name > Ctrl + A > Drag onto timeline.


    You may want to take your final and speed it up to double speed to come closer to 30 true fps.


    Because currently WMM only lets a pic value go down to .125 seconds and 30fps is actually .03333 seconds.

    So, technically you'd have to double, then double to get a true representation of 30 fps. That just looked WAY to fast for mine.. so I only doubled some of the clips that I created.
     
  18. MastaCow

    MastaCow I love cup.

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    38,335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    I'll have to figure out a solution on the mac side, or transfer the files to vmware fusion.
     
  19. MastaCow

    MastaCow I love cup.

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    38,335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    good info though :coold:
     
  20. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    iMovie fool
     
  21. MastaCow

    MastaCow I love cup.

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    38,335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    :hs:

    I've only opened it like twice.

    Technically this MBP is my "work" computer.
     
  22. ravenspy57

    ravenspy57 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    aweome, i like.

    That's gotta take a fair bit of motivation to do that early in the morning..
     
  23. Gerbonium

    Gerbonium OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,715
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    :bowdown: great info on how to do it too. of course having a d300 helps :o
     
  24. redna

    redna New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,614
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the comments... I shot some more last night, and plan to do some more tonight. Hopefully I get something that I can use. hahah..
     
  25. aCab

    aCab New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    18,292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicaaago
    in for more :bigthumb:
     

Share This Page