A&P Nikon d200/300 users - help a kid out with a setting....

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by jared_IRL, Mar 5, 2009.

  1. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,737
    Likes Received:
    55
    So on the d80, I had it set where the 'af-on' button would activate autofocus AND if i held in the af-on button and rotated the front dial, I could change the focus points.

    with the 200, I've managed to get this setup and working on the GRIP buttons only. On the main buttons, I can't figure out how to turn off the focus point selection on the dial.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I didn't know that was possible :cool:

    in for answer.
     
  3. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,737
    Likes Received:
    55
    it has to be possible. It works flawlessly on the goddam grip side, but I can't get the main controls to replicate it.

    this thing has so many menus....
     
  4. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    wait...you can use the AF-ON button and rotate the dial to move the focus points when using the vertical grip on the D80? I didn't know that.

    Nor do I know if it is possible to do on the d200 but i'd definitely like to know.
     
  5. Section8

    Section8 .

    Joined:
    May 29, 2001
    Messages:
    99,761
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Golden, CO
    Now I want to know too, because i didn't know this was possible either.
     
  6. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,737
    Likes Received:
    55
    Yeah, that works flawlessly with the d80. I've been shooting like that for years. Makes life SO easy.

    It's working that way on the grip now with the d200, but not with the body controls.
     
  7. BeachBoy

    BeachBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    The selector around the "cross/multiselector" needs to be aligned with the dot, and not the L.

    and also the focus selector needs to be at the single area AF (lowest choice, most clockwise) or the second one (cross) but not at dynamic)

    probably why you use the dial with the grip.. it's the multiselector/cross in normal more.

    My D80 I also use the selector, never use the dial to change focus point.
     
  8. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,737
    Likes Received:
    55
    I don't want to use the dial/selector. That requires me to move my finger off of the autofocus button.

    I want to be able to move my focus point while acquiring autofocus. The dial is 100billion times faster.

    I'm not having an issue moving the focus point with the dial, that moves just fine. But it sucks moving it that way.
     
  9. BeachBoy

    BeachBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    looks like you can only do that with the grip..

    found this out

    from http://www.lewiz.org/archive/2007/05/29/nikon-d2x-head-to-head-with-d200-mb-d200/
     
  10. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,737
    Likes Received:
    55
    which is fucking gay, because i've been doing it with my d80 for 3 years now.
     
  11. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    So how do i set this up for use with the grip? I can't even get that to work?
     
  12. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,737
    Likes Received:
    55
    pencil menu, A10 - set it to AF-ON + Focus Area.
     
  13. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    no option for that on my 700 :hs:
     
  14. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,737
    Likes Received:
    55
    fuckers.

    here's why, straight from the engineer's mouth:

    It's funny that I can find more info about your setup than I can mine...

    But at least you have a consistent setup. It's appearing more and more fucking likely that i'm going to have to remember two entirely different setups for the 200 - using the multi selector thing in landscape mode, and the af-on + focus dial method in landscape mode.

    That is gonna fucking blow.
     
  15. BeachBoy

    BeachBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    at least you upgraded from a D80 to a D200. I'm about to do the same and I'm glad I did not get used to use dial to select focus point.
     

Share This Page