A&P Nikon Crew: Angela knows jack

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by Sympathy, Dec 12, 2008.

  1. Sympathy

    Sympathy OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Messages:
    31,025
    Likes Received:
    81
    [y]<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/3XYMgZwWkHw&hl=en&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/3XYMgZwWkHw&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>[/y]

    :o
     
  2. Bloke

    Bloke Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Messages:
    26,775
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    that wasnt too usefull, id like to see how to change the intensity (on my camera i just turn a dial and it changes the wireless flash intensity as i wish, without changing the exposure)
     
  3. Sympathy

    Sympathy OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Messages:
    31,025
    Likes Received:
    81
    not only that, but the remote flash didn't even go off :o
     
  4. 1992 240SX

    1992 240SX New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,601
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    CLS is too much clickitty-clack-clickitty-clack, I like walking up to my flashes and dialing them up/down myself.
     
  5. GlobeGuy

    GlobeGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,974
    Likes Received:
    0
    It may have, but depending on the framerate of the camera it may have missed it on the frame it wasn't capturing.
     
  6. Sympathy

    Sympathy OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Messages:
    31,025
    Likes Received:
    81
    it should have gone off at the same time as the onboard flash (which went off). :o
     
  7. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,737
    Likes Received:
    55
    She had it set to 'ttl', so the flash would auto meter and adjust to the exposure based on what your camera needed. If you want to change the power of the flash, you can set it to manual in the camera menu, and change your flashes power from this menu.

    no it shouldn't have. cls is based of of a series of preflashes. It's very likely you saw one of the many preflashes, and not the flash that corresponded with the shutter.

    Not me. I like being able to stand where I'm taking the photograph, and within seconds, change the power of a flash and fire a test frame to see if I like the power. I can't see how anyone would prefer to have to walk to each flash they're using and adjust the power, then go back to their camera and fire, just to realize then mis-judged the flash power, and repeat.

    The beauty of CLS is changing the power of each and every flash in a scene from one single location, which just happens to be built into your camera.

    When you're using 3-4 lights in a scene and some of em are duct taped to ceilings and inside softboxes, manual changes become a HUGE pain in the balls.
     
  8. pawis

    pawis werd em up

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sin City
    just curious, is CLS RF, infrared, or triggered by on camera flash?
     
  9. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,737
    Likes Received:
    55
    It's infrared, and can be controlled by the onboard flash if your camera functions as a commander, a speedlight that has commander abilities, or by a hotshoe IR commander.
     
  10. pawis

    pawis werd em up

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sin City
    ah ok, so thats why its line of sight(so ive heard). i noticed on nikons website they have a virtual demo, and they had one speedlight behind the model, so that would have to be triggered via the on camera flash?
     

Share This Page