Nextel Crew v. Using Sprint Towers for Service?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Boogieman117, Feb 5, 2006.

  1. Boogieman117

    Boogieman117 PSN: Boogieman117

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    17,554
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    20678/20657 area
    Friend of mine told me that if you pull up the 'special' menu (#, *, Menu, Right) and Turn the "Err/Channel" to On, that you'd be able to use the Sprint towers for additional service.

    Personally, I think he's full of shit, but I also wondered: What the fuck is the Err/Channel setting and what does it do? I'm trying it now for shits and giggles, but haven't found any truth to the story. :wtc:

    When it's on, I notice text near the service icon that, I'm assuming, is the name of the phone tower I'm connected to.
     
  2. Boogieman117

    Boogieman117 PSN: Boogieman117

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    17,554
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    20678/20657 area
    Yes they did, but I'm not aware of any services changes that they've made.
     
  3. snytr3k

    snytr3k : w i g g l e :

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    i don't think nextel uses cdma, so it wouldn't be able to do that :dunno:
     
  4. Vagabond

    Vagabond Nope. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    58,213
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    I find myself in America.
    slap your friend.
     
  5. DINide

    DINide New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    15,530
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chi Town
    for me too
     
  6. RyanL

    RyanL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    4,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    sprint uses a completely different network then nextell does, there is no way to use the current sprint towers with a nextell phone. there has been talk a dual mode coming out in the future, but for now there is no way
     
  7. daviid

    daviid cell tower tech

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Concord, NC
    :stupid:

    Sprint uses PCS, nextel uses IDEN. right now sprint is trying to figure out to integrate nextel sites. the DoD bought out the IDEN network and will be taking it over in 2010. so pretty much sprint really has to do is just market pcs or another technolgy phone for both companies.
     
  8. Vagabond

    Vagabond Nope. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    58,213
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    I find myself in America.

    um, no. You spend too much time reading howard forum gossip. Here, this is for you. :stupid:

    There is no DoD buyout. Sprint has totally denied this both on internal and external releases. 2nd, there is indeed a quad-based phone coming out in (based on current projections) the 3rd quarter. 3rd, Sprint has been modifying towers to include both iDEN and CDMA equipment.
     
  9. saggynutz

    saggynutz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't quite remember the correctl story. If I could recall a few years back, Nextel's frequency was interferring with the law enforcements frequency. The government was thinking of regulating Nextel from using the two-way.

    Maybe because of this forthcoming regulation, Nextel decided to get out of the market and sold to Sprint. So, does the iden and cdma equipment have anything to do with frequency?
     
  10. Vagabond

    Vagabond Nope. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    58,213
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    I find myself in America.
    nextel had to get off the tdma network by 2015

    nextel can't afford to upgrade their shit

    nextel says, hey someone buy us

    sprint buys nextel

    sprint lives happily ever after and takes over the world

    PS: cdma and tdma have nothing to do with one another. but that doesn't mean you can't have 2 different transmitters on the same physical tower
     

Share This Page