A&P news article about amateur photogs

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by Sympathy, Mar 30, 2010.

1. Sympathy

Sympathy OT Supporter

2. High_Boost

High_Boost New Member

I am no pro (far from it), and I often feel sorry for those who are, as I have seen the impact to their buisness that the article is talking about.

But, their implication that someone off the street /w a $99 p&s can take photos like a pro who has $20K in gear, is ridiculous and everyone here knows that.

There will always be a place for pro photogs, it will just get tougher to make a living with the recent surge of weekend warriors.

What I think is weird, is every time I take the family someplace now it seems like I see more dslr's that p&s's in the crowd..
    I went to a renfest last weekend and the crowd was filled with big gripped cameras /w white lenses or red ring lenses.. it really made me feel underequiped :wtc:

what is it that makes the average family man want to spend thousands on pro/semipro gear to take vacation photos?

3. 1992 240SX

1992 240SX New Member

People always say "your camera takes great pics!". So they assume if they get a pro camera they're gonna become Ansel Adams

4. jackjohnson

jackjohnson simple as something nobody knows OT Supporter

agreed. In fact I think more of my friends have dslr's than P&S's nowadays. If I had a dollar for every one of my friends/friend's friends who bought a dslr and started a "john jacobs photography" facebook fan page with overdone HDRs I'd be set. it's part of the reason why my dslr looks nothing like one– it's hard to get over that stigma.