Newegg Build v. Upgrade

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by keensab, Mar 13, 2007.

  1. keensab

    keensab Bang Boom Pow!

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    VA Beach
    So my old pc's mobo and ups failed.

    Decided to shell out for a sem-new system while salvaging my old hdd's and dvd burner. I want to go core-duo and am kinda an AMD fanboy:rolleyes:. I picked the 7900gs for SLI possibility down the road without killing my budget...as I don't really do that much 3D gaming.

    Main things I'm wondering about:

    1) Any compatibility issues with the components?

    2) Any cheaper deals for the items I chose?

    3) Better alternatives? Why?

    **Wii nunchuk just a side item**


    [​IMG]
     
  2. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Consider getting a PSU with a 120mm fan mounted in the underside, instead of the 80mm fan mounted in the back. The larger fan will move more air with less noise, even at full load.
     
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    corsair > g.skill

    fortron > antec
     
  4. keensab

    keensab Bang Boom Pow!

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    VA Beach
    wouldn't underside be worse since heat rises? or is that the general term for top-mounted fans also?

    Does it matter that the case doesn't have top-side vents for the psu top fan?
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    you want the fan to be on the bottom... This takes air from the case and pushes it through the psu and out the back. This fits well in the "thermal theory" of front>back cooling.
     
  6. keensab

    keensab Bang Boom Pow!

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    VA Beach
    i see... so this works even if the psu only has the underside fan, and no secondary fan pushing air out the back?
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    um, yes.
     
  8. thoughtshewas18

    thoughtshewas18 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    9,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    arizona
    switch the mobo to a evga 680I (775 pentium) and buy yourself a E6600 c2duo and you will be much better off.

    Trust me.
     
  9. thoughtshewas18

    thoughtshewas18 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    9,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    arizona
    Ive never bought a pentium chip... ive always been amd but after building a C2duo machine, im thinking about selling my rig for one :)
     
  10. keensab

    keensab Bang Boom Pow!

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    VA Beach
    That's what I've been told. Thing is - I don't really want to shell out that much money... $200 for the E6600 and prob over $100 for the mobo.

    This rig was supposed to just be a mobo and psu replacement. But I've kinda bumped some things up :rofl:

    What about this psu ?
     
  11. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    thats a good unit.
     
  12. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, because the pressure from the fan, regardless of where it's mounted, will still compress air inside the PSU and "encourage" it to release that pressure by exiting through the back of the unit. Come on man, it's basic fluid dynamics.
     
  13. CPipes

    CPipes Shit definitely just got real!! OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    36,612
    Likes Received:
    1
    I got a stick of 1gb ram when i built mine. I switched it to 2 sticks of 512mb and my system seems to run much much better.
     
  14. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just buy another 1GB stick when you get the money. I'd rather have slower performance now, rather than having to throw away RAM.
     

Share This Page