WEB Newbie to phpBB

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Robb, Aug 17, 2007.

1. Robb

Robb Guest

Basically im setting up a forum for my community of ~50,000 people. Hoping to get around ~500-1000 users.

Anyways, I installed phpbb 2.0.22, there are a few small things i would like to change:
    1. Addition of subforums, is there a simple way to do this? I need a walk through if possible.

2. Is there a way to view the last 10 topics posted, as well as new replies when a user logs in.

3. How do I set up a simple chatroom for the board, and make a link to it on the frontpage?

Thanks guys, and I am quite new at this, so a very simple walkthrough would be awesome :x:

2. DigiCrime

DigiCrime If Only!

1) phpBB cannot do sub-forums like Vbulletin can atleast not the 2.0.22 that I can remember.

2) Theres a modification for this you'll have to add it in.

3) Same as #2 theres a modification for this.

I dont recommmend phpBB to anyone unless they need something for a quickie, small board or something to toy with. Spammers use google to search for phpbb boards and mass register which even with a modification added to the board doesn't stop spammers. With that many users I would invest in Vbulletin. phpBB can be a memory problem for any server with more then a couple thousand members or 200+ users online at a time.

3. Cthalupa

Cthalupa New Member

I'll second the vBulletin thing. It's an excellent piece of software, and I've been using it for years. It may seem a bit pricey, but when you consider in the massive amount of addons and modifications you can find at vbulletin.org, and the overall quality of both those and the forum software itself, it's a steal.

4. Suazo

Suazo New Member

Phpbb sucks...i agree with DigiCrime..

5. Robb

Robb Guest

I definately don't have the resources to purchase a license right now, so phpbb is going to have to suffice, back to my questions...

6. thomor25

thomor25 I make money online....

www.phpbbhack.org is your friend