GUN newbie to guns

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by r3dl4b3l, Oct 16, 2003.

1. r3dl4b3l

r3dl4b3l Guest

hey guys im new to guns and was wondering what exactly u need to purchase one? license etc....

2. Furner

Furner New Member

It all depends on your state. Go to the local gun shop, you should be able to find out there.

3. r3dl4b3l

r3dl4b3l Guest

i live in texas. i know that if you want to carry handguns you need the conseal license. and have to be i think 18 or 21 to purchase. but do you have to have a license to buy one? say if i did buy one and go to the range. do i need a license to shoot there?

4. taco

taco Guest

I don't know about texas but in PA you have to be 18 to buy a long gun and 21 to buy a handgun.

You can't be a criminal, illegal immigrant, habitual drug user, habitual drunk, convicted of domestic violence, and maybe a couple of other things.

Basically you go in pick out a gun fill out the form with some questions they run a background check over the phone. You pay for your gun and are out the door in about 20 min.

5. DRM600

DRM600 Guest

best thing to do is prolly go to your state's attorney general's website. wouldn't be a bad idea to look up the (i forget which) the us doj or teh atf website for more general info. i'd help us to help you if you tell us which state you're in.

6. r3dl4b3l

r3dl4b3l Guest

im in texas

7. Werm

Werm Guest

It's also 18 to buy a pistol, not 21 guys! It has to be a private sale from a non-ffl dealer though. It's legal to own a pistol at 18.

8. GlocksRock

GlocksRock Glock > You

9. Redmouse

Redmouse Just looking...