Newbie programmer questions...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Xoria, Apr 17, 2003.

1. Xoria

Xoria Keep the change, ya filthy animal.

i've been using computers for around 5-6 years and only recently have i been learning how to do more with it than just chatting and stuff. ive learned fotochop and shit but yeah that has nothing to do w/ the thread :)

i wanna know, how much can one do through programming? i know computers are built off programs and thats what makes it run...but in order to be a programming you have to have programmed SOMETHING before...not just know the language.

...and thats kinda my problem. i wanna learn how to program, but i dont have any goals. i'd like to learn how to program games, but the books ive (started to) read just talk about building programs for math problems and stuff.

what have you guys created that's useful? making stuff like...web browsers, chat programs, things like that are useful but theyve already been done and been done well. i just dont know what to aim for, i mean no sense in holding a gun and shooting everywhere if you don't have a target, right?

hopefully someone can make sense of this thread...:sadwavey:

2. CompiledMonkey

CompiledMonkey New Member

Depending on ability, a programmer can do anything. Windows is software a team of people wrote, just like a web browser. Of course it is much more complicated and longer, but each were completed using a programming language you can learn.

If you are into games, look to C/C++ or Java. If you mean a game such as Quake, go with C/C++. If you want to code something smaller and less graphically intense, Java will do the trick. A game like Quake isn't going to be made in a few weeks by a newbie. You need to understand the basics of a given language before you can get into the advanced concepts like object oriented programming (something you would find all over a game like Quake).