Newbert

Discussion in 'MMA Training Logs' started by Kenny Dalglish, Apr 15, 2008.

1. Kenny Dalglish

Kenny Dalglish New Member

today was my first day training at renzo gracie

Goals :
    learn bjj
    lose weight

Need to work on:
    cardio
    flexibility
    buy a 2nd gi

today I gassed during warming up but managed to make it through..
    inactivity for 3 months + tons of hooters wings on Sunday did not help.
    As for BJJ I learned to pass guard into side control, scissor sweep, scissor sweep to arm bar. My instructor is Igor Gracie but we also had a blue belt assistant who was able to help me and the 3 other total newbs out.

All in all I'm super sore but had a great time. My next night is Thursday.

PS - my partner today was kinda weird. As the assistant was showing us how to pass guard into side control he just kept saying what if someone punches you. Assistant was like dude no striking in bjj.. worry about technique. Which is exactly what I plan on doing.

2. Kenny Dalglish

morning after..
    super sore mostly due to me being out of shape
    my knees are pretty rare..
    chest is bruised from having a guys fists pressing down for half an hour..
    excited to get back in and learn more though.

3. Bausk

Bausk New Member

Punch them back. Then pass guard.

I love the guys that come in and genuinely are excited to learn. They are fun to work with and teach the basics.

4. Kenny Dalglish

Today was my 2nd day training. I wanted to go earlier but I was too sore.

Tonight we worked on - Takedowns, Passing Guard into side control, Sweeping guard into rear mount and then into rear naked choke.

I think I tweaked my right shoulder but it should go away in a couple of days.

Almost blacked out and puked during a RNC.. but will know to tap earlier next time. Learning experience.

Need to work on:
    cardio
    flexibility
    buy a 2nd gi*