Newb questions

Discussion in 'Fitness & Nutrition' started by Swoop411, Mar 4, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Swoop411

Swoop411 New Member

I have been browsing, I just havent found what I am looking for so I figured I would ask. I have no body fat and an extremely high metabolisim. I am 6'2" tall and weigh in at 140lbs. I would love to put on some muscle mass. I was in the Marine Corps for 6 years and talked with the Doc's there, I was told that I wouldnt gain any weight until my metabolisim slows down. We did insane ammounts of cardio while I was in the Corps, so I dont think that helped out any. I now have gym access again and wanted to try and get bigger. I gave up caffeine and carbonated beverages. I guess my questions are this, what kind of diet should I be on and what exercises should I do? I am really new to all of this so if you could break it down "barney" style that would be great! I was told by a friend that I should do like chest/tri, back/bi, then cardio/legs. Do you just hammer away at it like that? Like I said, I have never been in the gym so I dont want to be just walking around aimlessly trying out all the machines and playing around with some weights. I want to go in there with the purpose in mind and know what to do when I get in there. I want to get as big as possible without doing anything harmful to my body....like bad supplements or anything of that nature. Any help is appreciated! Thanks!!

2. UncleJohn

UncleJohn "That guy"

Well first off read, then just eat your ass off, lift as heavy as you can and stay focused, this isn't something you get instant rewards, it will take a long time to see results...

3. Swoop411

Swoop411 New Member

Yeah, I wasnt expecting to just get big overnight. But I would like to see results in the first couple months. Enough to keep me going, ya know?

4. toconnx

toconnx New Member