Newb help: Bulking

Discussion in 'Fitness & Nutrition' started by CPTLA885, Feb 16, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CPTLA885

CPTLA885 Guest

Yes, I am a newb here.

I have had serious stomach problems recently, lost about 40 pounds. I am 5'10" and my normal weight is around 160-165. Currently I'm sitting at around 130, medical issues resolved, ready to regain.

I will never have massive arms, etc, this would go against my genetic makeup. I am naturally lanky. Also keep in mind I have never really been to a gym in my life.

My goal is to regain 35-45 pounds of healthy weight. Right now I am not too lean, I do have a little fat on me (lack of exercise, etc). My goal is to gain the weight back, keep my body fat percentage to an absolute minimum. Brad Pitt for example, he isn't a bulky guy, but he is lean and cut.

I have been eating about 5 meals per day, about 3 hours in between each meal. Over time I will increase my calorie intake for each meal. Is this the best/fastest way to regain?

I have read the archives also. A good portion of my diet consists of oatmeal (100% rolled oats), tuna, bananas, etc. I have also ordered some whey protein. I do occasionally have pizza, etc, other fatty foods. Should I cut these completley? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

I'm going to start up at a gym, problem being, I don't know how to do shit because I haven't done it before. I am going to start massive cardio, but I'm not sure how to go about learning lifting techniques etc, anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks for your help.

2. Durk

Durk New Member

:hsugh:

3. CPTLA885

CPTLA885 Guest

I've met the guy. He's pretty skinny.

Sure, I'd gain weight, but wouldn't accomplish my goal. Thanks.

4. TXLBS

TXLBS New Member

1. It is in your genetics to get jacked. You just have to work for it.
    2. Healthy weight being lean body mass? Thats a significant amount of muscle you want to put on.
    3. I wouldn't ever repeat this in F&N.