new to domestics, want a project car

Discussion in 'OT Driven' started by ices, Mar 1, 2005.

1. ices

ices New Member

hello everyone, i am new with domestics so please bare with me...

i was thinking about getting a 94/95 pontiac v8 for a project car. however, i'm kinda confused. there are so many terms that seem to carry over from different models. what do all these mean? firebird, formula, transam. i've seen a firebird, a firebird formula, a transam formula. i figured this would be a good way to learn domestics. this car is definately not going to be my daily driver (i have an accord for that). is there anything else i need to know? certain years to stay away from, what's good, what's bad? what are your thoughts on using one of these cars for a project car.

2. Freak

Freak Guest

If you want an LT1 get a 95-97. 95 seems to be the best year.

I had a 95 Z28 for 3 years.Was my DD for about 2 of them. Never really gave me any problems. I had mine running high 12s w/drag springs, CAI, shorty headers, cat-back, cut-out & a couple other minor things not worth mentioning.

If you're looking for bang for your buck get a Mustang 5.0.

PM me if you need any ifno or help with cars you want to look at to possibly buy.

3. ices

ices New Member

i was thinking the older 5.0's, but i like the idea of 5.7l. more potential (feel free to prove me wrong if i am). what is the difference between all the formula's, transams, and firebirds? i just want to understand the difference so i can start doing my own research. i look on car pages and i get thouroughly confused. a firebird, a firebird transam, or a transam itself. what's the difference? thanks for the quick response though, i'll probably do a few weeks more worth of researching and then look into buying.

4. Fareo

Fareo New Member

Firebird = V6, cheepest
    Formula = V8, looks like a V6 but a, cheeper
    Trans Am = V8, best looking best bang for buck
    Trans Am WS6 = V8, fastest, most expensive