New to detailing, couple of questions...

Discussion in 'That'll Buff Right Out' started by toconnx, May 14, 2005.

1. toconnx

toconnx New Member

Hey guys, I'm new to detailing but I just bought a 1999 Trans Am 3 weeks ago that has been garaged it's entire life and the paint is absolutely gorgeous and I intend to try and keep it that way, even though I don't have access to a garage :( I've read up a lot on autopia and here the past few days, including reading front to back the autopia detailing guide several times and browsing the forums for about 3 pages.. These are my questions :

1. Polishes vs Glazes. I'm not sure I completely understand the difference between these, is a glaze just a very-low abrasion polish?

2. Sealants vs Waxes. What is the difference? I've read that a sealant goes on before the wax to protect the paint better/longer, but I've also read that a sealant is just the term for a synthetic wax, which one is true (or is it both and a synthetic wax goes on before a natural wax?)

3. I know there are product lists all over the place, but can someone reccommend me a decent product list to use on pewter paint (silver / light gold, depending on how you're looking at it) that will bring out a nice "wet" look?

4. Where do you guys get your products from? I went to the local wal-mart car section and 3 auto-supply stores just to check out what they had in stock, and besides some Meguiars stuff, I didn't see anything that looked very good. Mostly turtle wax craphouse products.

2. perry

perry burp

"It depends" :) Meguiar's has two types of polishes -- one that is abrasive and can remove swirls, the other is what they call a "pure polish" that just adds oils and "nutrients" to the paint to make it look better. The later is what the rest of us probably call a glaze. Then there his Vanilla Moose hand glaze which may be your definition. It took me quite a while before I finally figured out the difference too!