New ThinkPad: Vista or XP?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by oz02, Aug 12, 2008.

1. oz02

oz02 New Member

I'm buying a new Thinkpad T61 soon and I really don't know what I should get; Vista or XP? Also, if I do get vista, which version should i get (previously I was running xp pro, so I'd like to be able to customize my system to the same extent as I could using xp pro)?

2. more off

more off Moderator

vista ultimate

3. oz02

oz02 New Member

Should I get Vista even if I'm just getting integrated graphics? From this thread: http://forums.offtopic.com/showthread.php?t=3869646 half of the posters seem to be saying that Vista will not run quickly unless you have a dedicated graphics card. Its especially important that the computer will load quickly as I'm currently a student and I need to be able to load quickly/shut down quickly before/after classes.

4. OakleyTodd

OakleyTodd New Member

Vista. Do some research and you will find its a good OS. I have it running on my 3 computers, and the one at work. Vista Ultimate by the way.

5. Hate Crime

Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

integrated works fine

6. more off

more off Moderator

get ubuntu

[​IMG]

7. oz02

oz02 New Member

Ok, thanks for the help, I'll get Vista Ultimate.

My next question is whether or not its worth it to upgrade from the standard Intel Core 2 Duo T8100 (2.1 ghz 3mb l2) to the T9300 (2.5 ghz 6mb l2)? Its about an extra $110 (canadian)...

8. more off

more off Moderator

that sounds worth 110 imo

9. 5Gen_Prelude

5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

It's really not. I guarantee you, you won't be able to tell the difference between the two if they were side by side and you were simply doing your day to day tasks

10. oz02

oz02 New Member

i won't go for it then.

thanks for the help

11. Supernaut

Supernaut New Member