new security update

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by nashstradamus, Aug 18, 2005.

  1. nashstradamus

    nashstradamus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    899
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    ive noticed i cant change my desktop background after installiing the new security update. has this happened to anyone else? how do i revert to the previous version i had? a save point or something of that nature?
     
  2. colosodian

    colosodian Next Gen

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SF Bay
    mine changes fine after update. I think youre shit out of luck on a rollback.
     
  3. untoastytoast

    untoastytoast The Glory Days

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    10,842
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Palace of Auburn Hills
  4. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    recent update was pulled because it breaks support for some 64-bit apps, e.g. mathematica on G5s. Update should be released soon.
     
  5. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    edit: specifically, the LibSystem released in v1.0 of the update was 32-bit only. There is a hybrid 32/64 patch out now called Security Update 2005-007 v1.1, try downloading that.
     
  6. Devoidarex

    Devoidarex Rexversusu v.2.0

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    10,774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pacific South-West
    I've had no problems, but I only run a puny G4.
     
  7. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    my G5 runs fine right now but i've heard about the problem affecting G5's only
     

Share This Page