New SATA HD Not working... on one computer...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by DMClark, May 8, 2008.

  1. DMClark

    DMClark Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2001
    Messages:
    37,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got a new 750gb SATA HD to stick in my media PC.

    Well it didn't work when I put it int he media PC. So I stick it in my desktop and it works fine.

    So I go back to the media PC to troubleshoot. It isn't even coming up in the bios.

    By doing some guess and check work I find out that if I just attach the power cable the drive spins up just fine. If I then stick the SATA cable in it, it does nothing at all.

    Could this be a short or possibly something else?

    I've never really had to deal with a short before so not sure what the best way to go about it all is if I have one.

    The motherboard is it being hooked up to is an ECS KV2 Lite.
     
  2. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    how many SATA ports does that board have?
    try a diff port or try another drive on the port that is not working.
     
  3. DMClark

    DMClark Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2001
    Messages:
    37,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    Two ports. Tried both. Don't have another drive handy to try.
     
  4. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    does the media pc have any drives at all before? IDE?

    try:
    enter bios, look for sata configuration, sata mode, or whatever
    set it to IDE emulation or something. not RAID or AHCI
     
  5. DMClark

    DMClark Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2001
    Messages:
    37,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes all my other HD are IDE. Bios is set to IDE as well for SATA.
     
  6. DMClark

    DMClark Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2001
    Messages:
    37,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    What it looks like is that I need to figure out how to put the jumper on the back to have it default to 1.5gb/s instead of 3.0 and that might work. Samsung offers a software way to do this but with it not showing in the bios it doesn't do anything. There may be a jumper setting, or maybe I can hook it back up to my other computer and give it a try and see if that will work.
     
  7. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    that may be it. looks like your mobo's chipset has 1st gen sata, which may not be compatible to SATA II.
    does the drive's label doesn't have any info on the jumper settings?
     
  8. DMClark

    DMClark Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2001
    Messages:
    37,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've got one of the few VIA chipsets that doesn't support SATA 3.0 jumping back to 1.5, so I have to either gets Samsung's shoddy software to work or will be paying too much for an SATA controller card from Best Buy.
     
  9. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Last edited: May 8, 2008
  10. DMClark

    DMClark Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2001
    Messages:
    37,589
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    according to samsung, you either use the software or set the jumper to limit it to 1.5 mode.
    if none of those work, you may need to flash to the latest bios or the mobo simply has bad sata ports. that's pretty much it.
     
  12. DMClark

    DMClark Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2001
    Messages:
    37,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah I figure it it probably the SATA ports as the bios is the newest one. I'll probably go plop down $40 at best buy tomorrow or see if the local computer store has anything on the cheap on the SATA PCI controller side of things.
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2008

Share This Page