New processors for the ol' G4 are shipped!!

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by clog, Aug 1, 2005.

  1. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    :eek3d: :eek4: :eek3d:

    [​IMG]



    Should be in 2 days :noes: It's going in an older powerpc g4/agp/1gig ram. Hopefully it will feel a lot faster than my current dual 500mhz :eek3d:
     
  2. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    care bishes :squint:
     
  3. Arhida

    Arhida OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    7,998
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    It'll be a lot faster. We just put a 1.42 into a yikes last week and it was flying afterwards.

    By the way, I like your online shopping discount. ;)
     
  4. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    :hs: I didn't even notice it :o I cant wait til it gets here :hsd:
     
  5. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
  6. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia

    :eek3d: Should be in Wed according to UPS, but they usually deliver early :x: I'll let you guys know how it will do :eek3:
     
  7. onelove

    onelove Hit or Miss

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    2,437
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Can you buy upgraded processors for the Powerbooks ? I think mine has a 1ghz in it now wouldn't mind an upgrade.
     
  8. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
  9. dirteemac

    dirteemac hey, how are you?

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    7,776
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thinking about doing something like this for my dual 867. Please keep us updated.
     
  10. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    It came in yesterday, but I was unable to install it, and here's why...

    first, I was havig a hard time booting from the fucking CD; the fucker kept spitting my CD out :ugh: like it did when I installed Tiger. So I just shoved the fucker back in there.

    When it finally booted from the CD, it said that some patch areas were not detected :ugh: so I was unable to run the "PowerLogix 7447" firmware update. I call their retards @ the help desk, and the fucker tells me that I have a bad CD :ugh: I somehow fucking doubt that... anyway, they're sending me a new one :mad:

    Apparently I have Boot ROM Version: 3.3.1f1, but I need version 4.2.8... so I went to apple.com to grab that update, but I can't install it unless I have Classic installed, which I don't :mad: So now I have to grab a fucking copy of 9.2 from work and install that (I hae no fucking clue how i'm going to do that without erasing my tiger partition)... then update taht shitty boot rom, then hopefully run that shit offtheir CD. Only then I can pop in hte new processors :wtc:

    This was more than I bargained for :mad:
     
  11. Arhida

    Arhida OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    7,998
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    OS 9 doesn't partition anything. It'll just make a System Folder, Applications OS 9 and Desktop OS 9. Don't worry about installing it. Hell, you could even drag an old system folder from another computer if you wanted.
     
  12. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    yikes. good thing i still have classic installed. i was debating whether or not to wipe it the other day to clear some space. i guess that answers that question. i'll make sure i have that firmware update first.
     
  13. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    From ANY computer? Can I grab it from this 1.6gig Powerbook G4? I'm at work btw... I wish I had powerbooks laying around @ home :o
     
  14. Arhida

    Arhida OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    7,998
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    It is best if you use a clean system though, to avoid any problems. But yes, you could technically drag the system folder and the applications folder over and it would work. Then all you would have to do is open the classic system pref and see if it shows up.
     
  15. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    fawk, those powerbooks didn't have classic installed :wtc:

    I have a OS 9.2.1 cd here... how can I go about installing classic from t hat? :hs:
     
  16. untoastytoast

    untoastytoast The Glory Days

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    10,842
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Palace of Auburn Hills
    if you have the osx install discs that came with your computer, you can install os 9 from those.
     
  17. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    OK, I just installed classic...

    However, when I try to run the firmware updater, here is what I get:

    THe power mac g4 firmware updater does not work with Mac OS X. Please restart from a local hard disk with Mac OS 9 installed, and use the power mac g4 firmware updater again.

    :ugh: how the fuck do I do that? :wtc:
     
  18. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    so, I have to install OS 9 on a separate HD, and boot from it? good lord, this is a tricky process :hsd:
     
  19. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    Crap... I should have checked that before I went back to work :mad: Oh well... I will grab an extra HD from here and install OS 9 @ home on it, then just boot from it. Will the firmware update be stored on that HD ? :o I hope not bc I don't wnat a third HD
     
  20. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    Ok, I was able to boot from the OS 9 folder, then I ran the firmware update. So all is well now... except I just realized that the fucking factory HD that came with this thing is a shitty Maxtor with 2mb cache and 5400rpm :ugh: So I am goign to reinstall Tiger on my other HD (160gig, 8mb cache, 7200rpm).

    Other than that, system feelse a hell of a lot faster :coold:
     
  21. jackjohnson

    jackjohnson simple as something nobody knows OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    40,863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    give me the dual 500s so i can replace this single 450 :x:
     
  22. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia

    I'll "give" it to you for $70 :dunno:
     
  23. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    :hyper: This thing feels like a new machine now; that harddrive swap made a nice difference too :eek3d:
     
  24. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    i work at a publishing company. you'd be surprised how many of the designers and editors are happily working away on four-five year old machines. with the exception of a handful of people that have recently been given G5's, the average machine still in use by those guys is a 733 MHz G4. dual 1.2's would probably make them wet themselves, though, as i said, they're not complaining about their current machines. we just make sure they have at least 768 MB of RAM and they don't complain.
     

Share This Page