new processor

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Kuwi, Jan 23, 2005.

  1. Kuwi

    Kuwi Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    4,860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    U.S.A
    i currently have a amd athlon xp 2100+, if i got a amd athlon xp 2800+ how much faser would my computer run?, would there be a huge increase of speed?
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    well, 266MHz to 333MHz FSB increase. What ram do you have?

    but I'd save the money for a new system down the line.
     
  3. Kuwi

    Kuwi Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    4,860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    U.S.A
    i have micron technology 1024 mb ram.
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    that doesn't help me. What speed is it? PC-1600? PC-2100? PC-2700? PC-3200?
     
  5. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    You really won't see that much difference going to the 2800. If you want a lot more performance, save up for a new box and make a decent processor jump (64bit Athlon or high-end P4). 266 to 333 FSB and 1.73 to 2.25Ghz are not going to give you that OMG feeling. It's just not a big enough increase.
     
  6. Kuwi

    Kuwi Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    4,860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    U.S.A
    PC-2100
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    your ram won't support a 333MHz chip.

    save your money for a new cpu/mobo/ram.
     
  8. rightdownupleft

    rightdownupleft New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    24,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Live:Pittsburgh,PA From:Buffalo,NY
    yea buy p4 its more better!
     
  9. 4W4K3

    4W4K3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    5,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TX
    lol.

    I wouldn't go with a 2800+ at this time, specailly if you cant get you PC2100 up to PC2700 speeds. Buying new RAM just for a somewhat outdated processor seems like a bad move. Of course if you have NO plans on upgrading to soemthing like a P4 or A64 system then it might be best if your giving your PC more than it can handle, but i suggest waiting for an upgrade.
     
  10. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    :werd: It's not worth upgrading to anything but 64-bit right now.
     

Share This Page