New PC build is sooo Slow HELP

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Eat Shit, Nov 9, 2007.

  1. Eat Shit

    Eat Shit OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    3,046
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    atx
    blah blah, ibposcomputer
    Anyways, i just built this computer about 2 months ago.
    e6650, asus p5k mobo
    2gb corsair 800 mhz
    7300 gt video card
    3 x 200gb SATA drives.
    nothing is Oc'd, just put it all together and started her up, last week i reinstalled vista as it was being buggy for some reason. It works perfect on my other computer.


    Anyways lately it just seems so slow, vista has some built in CPU meters.
    Very often will it ever say im using 100% of my cpu or mem.

    anyways heres a screenshot of what im talking about, if your using vista you might recognize it.
    [​IMG]

    I went to "my computer", it literally took over 60 seconds to show my drives.
    Yet the little sidebar gauges show barely anything going on. What gives?
    The status bar on the my computer window isnt even half way. In green

    Why is it so slow, it seems like its not using the cpu like it should to get processes done. one of the sidebar widgets actually shows the two cores.
     
  2. Willey2cool

    Willey2cool New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    8,570
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonds, WA
    have you tried running the Windows Vista Performance rater under control panel? it will rate your setup to see how well you run vista and can turn stuff off and on like visual effects and stuff. Other than that just looking at your specs your video card kind of sucks, do you have the newest drivers for that. And have you installed all the updates for vista?
     
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    did you install your drivers, chipset and all?
     
  4. Eat Shit

    Eat Shit OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    3,046
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    atx
    no not really now that i think about it.
    I hate instaling the shit that comes with the mobo, shit runs in the background and at startup, wont let me turn it off.
    Im hoping to up vid card soon, but either way i dont see how that has anything to do with it taking forever to load my hardrives.
     
  5. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    you can always do a run->msconfig and the stuff off...
     
  6. Eat Shit

    Eat Shit OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    3,046
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    atx
    yea i know that, but the asus stuff doesnt show up, this board has built in wifi
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    almost certain that's your problem.
     
  8. Bitter Moose

    Bitter Moose OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    13,395
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    I'd just reformat and atleast install some chipset drivers. I have the same mobo, nothing is going to run in the background. I was pretty disappointed in my new pc's performance under vista. Im running a q6600 4gb ram and an 8800U also. Installing xp did wonders for me, i highly recommend it.
     
  9. Eat Shit

    Eat Shit OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    3,046
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    atx
    well thats the thing, i did just reformat.
    and yes the asus shit will run in the background, the drivers that install include the wifi utility and ive searched and searched on how to get rid of it.
    Drives me crazy, it makes windows wireless utilities so slow, especially on boot up.

    Im sick of XP, ive been using it for so long, its so boring, i love all the fancy shit on vista
     
  10. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Drivers definitely can make a big difference.

    Also the bios revision. Have you checked to see what updates are available?
     
  11. Casey

    Casey New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    :rofl: UXTheme hack, Windowblinds, etc?
     
  12. Eat Shit

    Eat Shit OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    3,046
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    atx
    well got the chipset drivers installed agian, and it seems decent so far, cant believe i forgot to install them.

    How can i update the bios without a floppy?
     
  13. Leb_CRX

    Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    39,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    once I did a fresh install of XP on my machine and ran 3dmark 05...
    then installed the chipset drivers and ran the same benchmark

    got like 3000 points more

    it was a nf7-s with the nforce chipset...

    chipset drivers are fucking key
     

Share This Page