New mobo/ram advice

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Kieffer87, Apr 2, 2007.

  1. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    So its time to upgrade my computer, being as im a poor college student it might take some time. But anyways this is what I was thinking.

    Processor:
    Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 Conroe 2.13GHz http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115004

    Mobo: ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131028

    Ram: Not Sure


    Heres my situation. I currently have a dell I have had for a couple of years and im ready to build my own. Current setup

    Processor: P4 HT
    Ram: 2x512mb Dell ram pc-3200
    HD: 74GB Raptor
    Graphics: ATI Radeon x800

    According to Asus website that mobo should support my current cpu, so i'm going to do that for the time being until I can find a good deal on that the E6400.

    So my question is will my current ram work for now I looked on Asus site but it lists some different brands but they are all DDR2 so Im guessing it probably wont being its only ddr? Any suggestions are also welcome.




     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Intel Mobo > Asus Mobo. Make that change.

    your memory will NOT work. You need some DDR2. I recommend Corsair.
     
  3. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    Any particular Intel models better than ever?
     
  4. rsxm5

    rsxm5 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,961
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I like the Intel DG965WH, or the DP965LT... otherwise, if you want to spend some money, go with the D975XBX2
     
  5. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
  6. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    doc brown which board are you running? How are these intel boards for overclocking? I don't plan to do anything crazy but I wouldn't mind cranking it up a bit.
     
  7. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Forget about the 965 Intel boards if you want to overclock.

    I read that one of the highend 975 Intel boards overclocks well,
    but the 975 chipset is older, and the 965 is brand new.
    If you want to overclock, the Gigabyte boards are good, and of course
    the higher end Asus boards. I just read up on a couple of Abit boards, and they will overclock some, but not as well as the Gigabyte boards.

    I'm using a DG965OT Intel micro-atx board. I run my E6600 completely stock and it is screaming fast in the apps I run. I just installed Adobe Audition 1.5 on my build for the first time, and I ran some tunes through it to see how well it would do. Well the load times are unbelievably fast.
    I'm running 2gb of G.Skill memory, with a Raptor drive running XP Pro.
    For me, it's plenty fast.
     
  8. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    I'll keep that in mind. I was just thinking about my parents computer they bought with the lowerend core2duo i think 1.8ghz and its very snappy but if you still get some shit going on it bogs down. I do some video editing and that sort of thing so the faster the better. I'll check into the 965s as well. I'm really suprise everyone shot down the asus board, it has some great reviews on newegg, but I guess there are better things for the money and thats why I come here:love:
     
  9. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio

    Actually, I don't have a problem with that Asus board at all.
    That's one of the higher end ones that they do very well.
    I got my Intel board because jolly mentioned the stability issue. And it is very stable.
    The video editing type stuff is exactly what I was getting at, also. Just as a curiosity about the 1.8ghz c2d that your parents have. How much memory is in it?

    Anyway, as far as stability goes, nothing is going to beat the Intel boards
    but there have been a lot of people posting about good results with other
    manufacturers as well.
    Maybe Intel worked better than usual with the manufacturers,who knows.

    I would stick with the 965 chipsets, unless you go with that Asus which will
    no doubt run great.
    Take a look through this list. The top two Abit's are the ones that I mentioned
    I had read up on lately. Good solid performers, but if it was me I would get
    the Gigabyte DQ6 or the Asus.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...deValue=717:23176&PropertyCodeValue=717:22485
     
  10. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    I can't remember for sure but I think they only have a gig of ram which could also be part of the problem.
     
  11. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    After comparing those 2 abit boards and the gigabyte board I really don't see much of a reason to go with the 2 more expensive boards. The ABIT AB9 Pro sounds pretty damn good for the price. After reading some of the reviews though I am kind of worried about the bios issues. IT also seems it is a pretty big headache to setup a raid array but I have a server to take care of that :bigthumb:
     
  12. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    The review I read on the Abit boards gave it good praise.
    And they overclocked well enough, just not as good as the reivewer expected it to.
    But a lot of overclocking depends on the motherboard/memory combo,
    so they might not have had the optimal setup. And also, sometimes
    people just have better luck than others do.
    But they managed to get the exact same cpu you are wanting to use, up to around a stable 3.2ghz. That ain't so bad.
     
  13. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    Yea thats more than I would probably go. So say I wanted to go somewhere between 2.6-3.0ghz What kind of cpu cooler might a guy need, i'm sure the stock heatsink probably woun't be the best for OCing. I remeber a thread awhile ago about this ill see if I can find it. I think it compared zalman and one other cooler.

    edit: The zalman 7700 series would be a good match for my needs I think.
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2007
  14. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I love the Zalman 7700 series. Not only does it cool the cpu, but it also blows cool air over of the motherboard surrounding the motherboard.
    That just seems to make a lot of good sense to me.

    If it will fit the motherboard is another question. When you decide which board you are going to get, post in here and maybe we can find someone who's used that combo.
     
  15. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    Hey Doc you mentioned you were using the DG965OT board. Is that an older board, I can't seem to find it on newegg.
     
  16. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    They might not have any in stock, but it's also the Intel-BOXDG965OTMKR

    If you google that, you should find some places that have it.

    It's a pretty great board. Has onboard video, firewire, 6 xSATA, something like 8 USB, 8 channel audio, and the onboard video is Direct x 10 and Vista ready.
     
  17. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    Does that board support OCing at all or not? I'm new to the whole building your own pc, but I would kind of like to have the option to mess around with it. Otherwise I may go with the E6600 instead. Also do you kow offhand if the zalman 7700 fits on this board?
     

Share This Page