new mac user question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by skelm, Apr 1, 2006.

  1. skelm

    skelm New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    I'm trying to change the hostname on a powerbook, How can I do this? I've tried using the terminal to no avail. Any input?

    michael-s-powerbook-g4-12:~ michaels$ hostname powerbook
    hostname: sethostname: Operation not permitted
     
  2. kevkid

    kevkid New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Amherst, MA
    the option should be under system preferences, network, if not i think sharing
     
  3. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    sudo hostname powerbook

    You will also be asked for a password. Set it via the sharing control panel though, i think doing it from the command line gets reset when you reboot or something.
     
  4. skelm

    skelm New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    thanks for that guys.. The was so easy *embarressed*
     
  5. robwormald

    robwormald New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    33,035
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATX
    if you're new to macs...don't fight your computer! usually the easiest way to do something is the way you do it on OS X :o
     

Share This Page