New Internal HD Install Q's.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Thought Thinker, Oct 6, 2007.

  1. Thought Thinker

    Thought Thinker Circling the drain.

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,965
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alright so my wife got her brothers old computer.
    It's a piece.

    Long story short I bought new memory, and a new internal hd.

    I planned on ditching the old hd right off the bat and just doing a clean Windows install on the completely blank new hd, but I can't find a makedisk.exe program any where on the computer. I've searched every way possible for the chipset drivers. Of course the original resource c.d. is completely missing. I know what mobo and chipset is in it, and I still can't get the right drivers/makedisk.exe from Intels site.

    So my question is this, can I leave the old HD in, put the new HD as a slave drive, and let Windows detect it automatically (or use the installation disk that came with it), then do a clean install of Windows on the new drive? Then turn around and remove the old one, and put new drive with only windows on it as the master?


    Sounds like it would work, but I really don't know.
    Any help is appreciated.
     
  2. pyehac

    pyehac if she's old enough to cross the street, she's old

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    5,230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    What OS is it?

    If anything, put Linux on it.
     
  3. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Why do you need drivers for a hard drive.. unless it is sata and you are installing windows xp.
     
  4. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    my windows xp install cd detects sata drives
    i think it was only windows 2000 or early winxp installs that needed the drivers

    in that case, use nlite to add the drivers to the install
     

Share This Page