New Hard Drive

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by SouLtroniCs, Nov 29, 2004.

  1. SouLtroniCs

    SouLtroniCs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok here's my situation,

    i got a HP Pavilion = 933mhz, 128 mb, 40 gb, windows ME
    i bought a new hard drive (40 gb) from a friend
    i set the new hard drive as slave
    i turned on computer, it updated the new hardware
    i go to "my computer", i don't see my new hard drive

    help me out fellas
    thanks
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    if the new drive was new (nothing on it) or was out of a win2k or xp machine (ntfs) then you wont' see it.

    you need to use fdisk and format to get it usable.

    while you're at it, get at least another 256MB of ram, and ditch windows ME for XP.
     
  3. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    What brand of drive?
    Most makers offer a file you can download to create a boot floppy to format your drive with ease.
    You can still do it with fdisk but that's command line, boot floppy I'm talking about might be more like using a program in Windows (atleast it is in the case of Maxtor)
     
  4. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Right-click on My Computer -> Manage. Click on Disk Management. You should see the drive there and you should be able to see what the problem is. You can format the drive from there too.
     
  5. korrupshun

    korrupshun New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    YourMommasHouse
    didnt think that was possible in ME, only 2k/xp
     
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    pretty sure it's only 2k/xp, as well.
     
  7. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Whoops.. When ME came out it wasn't on my machine for more than a week before I took it off.
     
  8. SouLtroniCs

    SouLtroniCs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the help

    yeah its a Maxtor drive
    so i should check out their website and find a program?
     
  9. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
  10. SouLtroniCs

    SouLtroniCs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks man, i'll try this tomorrow
     

Share This Page