New external HD. Firewire or USB

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Blair, Apr 26, 2007.

  1. Blair

    Blair New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    8,532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    What do you guys think?

    I am going to get a Lacie 250 so I can do complete backups of my install. Should I get firewire or usb? My first instinct is to get the fireware to save the usb ports.
     
  2. Jacen2141

    Jacen2141 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SC
    can you not find one with both? :hs:
     
  3. TFunkadelic

    TFunkadelic One Nation Under A Groove

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    0
    word, my shell's got usb, firewire 800, and firewire 400...I use the 800 though (this hd is exclusively for music/media) and it's always been great.
     
  4. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I'd get both if you can, if not, I like my FW better.
     
  5. Yardsale

    Yardsale OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    88,007
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Francisco
    firewire 800 is the hotness. my mybook is firewire 800, video editing :naughty:
     
  6. ryckmonster

    ryckmonster New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    0
    fw for the speed, BUT...


    IF YOU HAVE MULTIPLE COMPUTERS (like a PC), and want to transfer data between them or back up another, you'll prolly need USB
     
  7. Blair

    Blair New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    8,532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    i want a lacie and the ones i am looking at are an either or sort of thing. i will probably just go with firewire; i do not own a pc.
     
  8. notwist

    notwist Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    5,738
    Likes Received:
    0
    mine has USB2.0, FW300/800
    that way i can still use when i upgrade
     
  9. Bona Fide

    Bona Fide Guest

    FW800 > FW400 > USB 2.0


    Of course, this is if you have FW800.
     
  10. Blair

    Blair New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    8,532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    intel imac :dunno:
     
  11. Bona Fide

    Bona Fide Guest

    Only the 24" comes with FW800. :hs:
     
  12. moses

    moses OMGWTFBBQ

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2000
    Messages:
    40,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
  13. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I own two FW400 drives and one USB 2.0.

    I'd happily trade the USB 2.0 for another FW400. Its way faster, at least on my mac.
     
  14. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    :hs:
     

Share This Page