New computer question.....

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by rvee, Jun 7, 2007.

  1. rvee

    rvee OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,245
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought my wife a new computer and she wants it to be exactly like her old one as far as desktop, programs etc. What is the best way to sync the new one up to look and operate like the old one?

    Thanks for any help!
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    why buy a new one if she doesn't want it to change at all.
     
  3. rvee

    rvee OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,245
    Likes Received:
    0
    :rofl: You have no idea how many arguments we have had over that exact statement!
    She has an old computer and has been complaining about how slow it is. So, I bought her a new one. Now she wants it to be just like the old one as far as programs, games, desktop and all the shit of 5 years. Some of it I could just reinstall but I was looking for a way to do it all at once.
     
  4. rvee

    rvee OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,245
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I just install the hard drive from the old computer and have it as the D: drive on the new computer, will she be able to click on the programs and have them run? To me this would be the easiest way. I know that the desktop won't be the same but she can deal with that.
     
  5. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    gotta install
     
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    yea, you want to reinstall them.
     
  7. rvee

    rvee OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your help guys! Much appreciated. I got everything installed and works great.
     
  8. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    there was a possibilty that you could have cloned the hard drive from the old machine, then ran windows repair so it boots

    but it would still run like shit
     
  9. rvee

    rvee OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here is what might be a stupid question. :noes:
    Next time could I have taken the old hard drive out and put it in the new computer as the c: drive, boot up with the XP cd and do a repair of windows to get the correct drivers loaded. Would this work or is there a fatal flaw in my masterplan?:dunno:
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2007
  10. rvee

    rvee OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,245
    Likes Received:
    0
    :rofl:Wow you answered my question before I even asked it!
     
  11. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    It's just really really really not a good idea.

    I've done it purely to extract information but I'd never run my new machine like that.
     
  12. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    :werd: its worth keeping the fresh install of windows as well as the faster computer.
     
  13. imraven52

    imraven52 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    salt lake city, utah
    dude, just use partimage.
     

Share This Page