new computer problems

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by xinster, Oct 3, 2006.

  1. xinster

    xinster New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UIUC
    first of all, thank you to the people who helped me with my laptop. Got it cleaned/gooped and now its awesome. Cept it cant run without being connected to a charger...but w/e



    My problem is with this desktop. Occasionally, even right after i start the computer, the computer freezes up for like up to a minute. Certain things in background applicaitons continue to animate and work properly, but its like the monitor doesn't update. Except i know its definitely not the monitor's problem. Its something in the HD. Monitoring the task manager, i dont see any weird programs, andi dont think its a virus (i have no virus checker or anything, so it COULD be) but i doubt its spy ware. wtfx
     
  2. xinster

    xinster New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UIUC
    like, just now. clicking post reply took like 30 seconds. sometimes when i minimize a window it freezes up too. Opening picture files...its werid.
     
  3. xinster

    xinster New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UIUC
    other symptoms- during freeze thers a huge spike in cpu usage, and afterwards, anything i did during the freeze will be complete. Like, its not processing things smoothly.
     
  4. xinster

    xinster New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UIUC
    its barely even useable now. I get huge spikes just clicking anything, even if its not on the internet. i dont see any werird processes or anything
     
  5. xinster

    xinster New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UIUC
  6. piratepenguin

    piratepenguin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ireland
    Since no one else seems to care about this.. I'll take a shot at pointing you towards Ubuntu.

    Worst that happens is that other people start caring.
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2006
  7. Neighk

    Neighk Red Sox/Patriots >*

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rhode Island (yes a state!)
    OS issue, format/reinstall.
     
  8. Tk

    Tk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    23,075
    Likes Received:
    281
    Location:
    nw iowa
    at least try to download and install AVG Free edition (google: "free avg") ... run it...... if u have a legit copy of windoze download whatever spyware protection they are offering now (windoze defender???) and run that as well.

    ...thatd be my first step...
     
  9. xinster

    xinster New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UIUC
    did that. Can i transfer files from the desktop to a laptop using a usb or ethernet cord?
     
  10. Schproda

    Schproda New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Does it do the same thing in safe mode?
     

Share This Page