new computer, help?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by ccrooks, Apr 9, 2007.

  1. ccrooks

    ccrooks New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    60,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    south bay, southern cali
    so, i'm putting my new computer together and ran into a snag... i wonder if there's a workaround


    i've got 2 IDE hard drives and 2 CD drives... but only one EIDE header on my motherboard... am i screwed here? or is there some way that i can still connect all of my drives?
     
  2. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2007
  3. ccrooks

    ccrooks New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    60,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    south bay, southern cali
    yeah, that's what i'm looking for

    i was thinking i'd hook my CD drives up to the extra slots (the ones on the card) and have my HDs connected to the mobo
     
  4. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    I ran into that same problem when they disco'd the board I had ordered. When I found a replacement, it didn't even dawn on me to double check there were two IDE connectors on the MB since it's been like that for over a decade on full size boards. Times are a changin.
     
  5. ccrooks

    ccrooks New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    60,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    south bay, southern cali
    what'd you do?
     
  6. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Sent it back. They still exist, it's not an automatic anymore though.
     
  7. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    If you have a burner, hook the boot drive (the one with the OS loaded) and the burner to the MB. Hook the rest to the IDE card.

    This'll let you burn a disk from DL to the main drive without tying up alot of system resources. When you burn disk-to-disk, it *could* slow down. If you do not burn a disk often, then don't listen to this and hook them up the way you stated.

    The nicer your controller card the less it matters, so long as your boot drive is on the MB header.
     
  8. ccrooks

    ccrooks New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    60,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    south bay, southern cali
    ok, so here's where i'm at right now

    i got a pci IDE card and popped it into the case... problem is, i need to install the drivers in order for windows to recognize it :uh:

    so i rigged one HD and one CD drive on the same IDE cable (connected directly to the mobo), but like this, windows won't recognize either drive... what the hell is happening right now? why isn't windows seeing either of my drives? (when i connect the two HDs on the same IDE cable, windows boots up, but i can't install any drivers b/c i don't have a CD drive connected...)
     
  9. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    Check the jumper settings for these two devices. If one is set to master and one to slave already, flip flop the settings and try again. Still not working? Replace the IDE cable. Still not working? A device has gone bad. Trial & error to narrow it down. It shouldn't take more than 2-3 attempts total to get this straight.
     
  10. ccrooks

    ccrooks New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    60,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    south bay, southern cali
    yeah, i thought about the jumper settings after i left the house... that'll be number 1 on my list of to-do's tonight after the gym

    i also went and got some more IDE cables... longer ones (36") to give me some more flexibility in how i connect the devices

    i'll update tonight... keep your fingers crossed

    EDIT: it has to be the jumpers... the devices work fine separately (cd drive functions and the HD functions when they're not connected together)
     
  11. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    36" is too long. I wouldn't use them.
     
  12. JaJae

    JaJae New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    3 feet is way too long. All that extra cable is gonna sit somewhere in your case... restricting airflow and just being a nuisance.
     
  13. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    reducing xfer rates, too.
     
  14. ccrooks

    ccrooks New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    60,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    south bay, southern cali
    the other IDE cable won't reach from my pci card to my dvd/cd drive... way too short
     
  15. ccrooks

    ccrooks New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    60,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    south bay, southern cali
    ok, i think i've got everything up and running now... all i need to do is clean up the inside of the case and i'm in business

    p.s., the 36" IDE cable is the perfect length to run from my PCI card (at the bottom of my case) to my disc drives (at the top of my case)
     
  16. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    sounds like time to re-arrange the drives. 36" is simply too long
     
  17. ccrooks

    ccrooks New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    60,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    south bay, southern cali
  18. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    that case is short.
     
  19. JaJae

    JaJae New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's a mid tower... what's the three feet for? The case is only a foot tall or so.. A 2" cable should have reached.. no?
     
  20. ccrooks

    ccrooks New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    60,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    south bay, southern cali
    i think the cable itself is 36" long from end-to-end (system board end to master end). it's also longer than a normal IDE cable from slave (middle connector, i think) to master... it's really not as absurd as it sounds... it's just a slightly longer IDE cable and a lot of the length, i think deceptively, comes from the added length between master and slave
     

Share This Page