A&P New camera or do i just suck at pictars?

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by negative zero, Feb 11, 2010.

1. negative zero

negative zero New Member

I don't know if the camera is the issue or if it's me. I have an older canon s3is point and shoot. Definitely not dslr quality but got pretty decent reviews at the time I purchased it. It takes so-so pictures. Most of the time, outside shots look good enough for me but I almost can never get a good inside shot. Case in point, last night.

My son got his orange belt in karate. I took a few shots during the belt test and some were OK. The most important one looked like crap. :mad: Here it is.

[​IMG]

The place would be considered low light I guess but I wouldn't have thought it was bad enough to get as horrible of a picture.

Here's one I took a few minutes later that looks better but then again they were alot closer.

[​IMG]

Now, I'm know I'm no expert and I don't intend to be but I am pissed i missed this shot (as well as others of my kids) :wtc: .

Was it me or the camera or a combination of both?

I don't think I want to delve into the dslr world because I just don't have the $$ for the glass but I need to get better shots.

If there is a decent point and shoot for ~$500, that's about all I can afford (and that's stretching it).

Any ideas? :sadwavey:

2. Jcolman

Jcolman OT Supporter

The flash didn't fire in the first pic. That's why it's so dark.

3. Wobistdu

Wobistdu Guest

Canon s90 or g11 are your top p&s cameras

I had the canon s5 is. Nice camera but they can't touch dslr capability

4. SkiMax

SkiMax OT Supporter

time for a D3 and a 200mm f2...

5. EWhytsell

EWhytsell New Member

Yeah flash didn't seem to fire. Also FYI if you use the camera's live view to frame the subject and snap the shot then your much more likely to get camera shake even with the built in IS system. You should use it like a DSLR and look through the eyepiece. I have an S2IS and its a great camera as well.