new build won't power on

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by brodieman, Dec 1, 2007.

  1. brodieman

    brodieman OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ME
    I got my new parts the other day (eg7650 cpu, gigabyte ga p35 ds3l mobo, corsair 620hx) and today I went about removing my old mobo/psu/gpu etc. Installed everything, seemed to go smoothly, no issues getting anything in there and connected. Replaced the cover, got my monitor/mouse/keyboard plugged in, plug in the power supply, turn it on, and hit the power button.
    Nothing.
    Turn it off, unplug, open it back up, check the connections, everything looks fine so I try switching the power/hdd/power led wires to see if i had them the wrong direction, close it up and try it again and same thing.
    As far as I can tell all my connections are good but I can't get it to start up, I don't get any response whatsoever, anyone have any ideas?
     
  2. bowrofl

    bowrofl New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canadia
    disconnect everything and see if it will boot with nothing but the mobo.

    if it doesn't, sounds like a dead psu? not 100% certain about that though
     
  3. brodieman

    brodieman OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ME
    okay, i'll give that a shot tomorrow morning and see what happens, disconnect gpu, hd, cd, floppy and see what I get? I'll have to double check, but I don't think the led on the mobo is even coming on.
    Also, could it be possible that there is something wrong with my case? it's about 3-4 years old and I don't think anything should be wrong with it but I don't know how I would check...
     
  4. JaJae

    JaJae New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    No response whatsoever is probably a switch issue or a dead psu. Most likely a switch issue. Double check your case wires.
     
  5. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,736
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    make sure you plugged in all the psu connectors. i always forget the 4pin connector
     
  6. brodieman

    brodieman OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ME
    alright, I'll double check the case/psu wiring in the morning.
     

Share This Page