New Build Problem

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Serialpimp, Jun 14, 2008.

  1. Serialpimp

    Serialpimp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its been about 6 years since I cracked my case open for anything other than a memory or video card upgrade,
    so I went and bought some new parts:

    Antec P180 Silver Case
    Antec 550w Neo - Power Supply
    Intel E8400 3.0Ghz Processor
    Two 2Gig Sticks of Kingston HyperX DDR2 6400
    XFX 8600GT 256MB XXX Version
    Gigabtye EP35-DS3r 775 Motherboard
    Two Samsung DVD Drives
    Two 500GB Western Digital 7200rpm 16M SATA2 Hard Drives


    So, its been a while since I played with all this stuff,
    I put it all together,

    PROBLEM:

    When I start up, it powers up for about 10-15 seconds, then turns off for about 10-12 seconds, and then back on for 10-15 seconds, and continues to do so, until I turn it off at the back,

    What do you guys think?
    Bad Power Supply? or connection somewhere?
    Advice on how to Diagnose and/or Fix?

    All parts were new out of the plastic from NewEgg,


    Thanks,
     
  2. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    check if that board has the latest bios. this power on/off loop problem is pretty common with mobos that uses a bios that doesn't fully support the Penryn CPUs.

    reset CMOS

    check RAM voltage is 2.0v for the CAS5 model, 1.95v for the CAS4 model
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2008
  3. Danno

    Danno Bronx Poodle OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    64,919
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Indiana
    The EP35 all provide 45nm support.
     
  4. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    doesn't mean there'll be no issues
    it's on its 2nd (and a 3rd beta) bios version already to fix those issues
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    when will people listen?

    gigabyte mobo? no.
    antec psu? hell no.
     
  6. PcH

    PcH Guest

    :werd:

    I have both and am now suffering after 4 years
     
  7. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Your system shouldnt turn on for more than a second.. it should short out almost instantly.
     
  8. Serialpimp

    Serialpimp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    It just turns on for about 10 seconds, then off,


    I don't have an extra power supply to test with,
    and
    I have not other ideas,

    The only empty screw hole on the motherboard is one that does not line up with any of the holes on the case, so I think I have all those covered,


    Hey Doomsday,
    How I am suppose to install new bios or do anything if my system will not stay on for more than a few seconds,? Please Advise?
     
  9. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I would only update the bios as an absolute last resort.

    It only will compound the difficulty of troubleshooting if it doesn't fix the problem.
     
  10. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I have an Antec True Power II 550 watt psu. That is supposed to be the bad one they made from the True Power series.
    And it's ran flawlessly for close to 2 years now.

    Jolly's hate for Antec is irrational.
     
  11. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    oh yes you had a decent experience with ONE product and my hate is irrational. :rofl:

    every now and then bad products have a few that work okay.

    likewise good companies make a bad one every now and then.
     
  12. awns729

    awns729 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    :werd: I'm pretty happy with my Antec PSU

    Take your PSU to a computer place (geek squad, firedog, etc.). If the guy's nice, he'll pop it in a PSU tester for free cuz it only takes a second.
     
  13. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    and if you knew what a "psu tester" you'd realize that they don't actually test psus very well.
     
  14. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio

    So my comment is anecdotal? I got news for you, so are yours.

    The True Power series carry a 5 year warranty for a reason. And that reason is not Antec's willingness to cover warranty losses as a business model.
     
  15. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    so by your logic, kia is manu of God's chariot, and toyota must be shit, right? I mean 10 year warranty vs. 3 year warranty.



    okay, brotato. You can stick with antec. I'll stick with something good :mamoru:
     
  16. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    the reason I asked you to check the bios version number is that the so called 'boot loop' problem is common on the old version of this board (rev 1.0, bios F1).

    the latest version of that board is rev 2.1, bios F2. if you have this, you don't need to flash the bios and the problem is something else.

    getting old stock from retailers is a common thing,... so if you do have the old version of the board, the fix is a bios update, but most people simply just RMA'd the board.

    read your manual on how to reset cmos. you actually need the system off to do this.

    my main suspect is your ram. that gigabyte board's default voltage is 1.8v something. The kingston, as I stated above needs 2.0v or 1.95 depending on what you have. you have to make these changes in the bios.

    so,... can you enter bios?
    in my rig,... around 3 seconds from boot, I can hit the DEL key to enter bios.
    at 10-15 seconds, the system is done posting and is already starting to load Windows.
    when does yours stop/power off?
     
  17. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    The difference is that the auto makers do this from time to time to boost sagging sales, and Antec has been giving 5 years on their best psu's for years.

    Anyway, when this guy starts saying to stay away from Antec psu's, i'll start listening.
    http://www.jonnyguru.com//forums/showthread.php?t=1460
     
  18. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    What's wrong with Gigabyte motherboards?
     
  19. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    i'm sorry that you haven't already got the point: I don't care what you do. You can use antec until a hobo on the street tells you that he's the virgin mary. I don't care.

    I only trust two people in life... one of 'ems me, the other is not you. I KNOW to stay away from antec.
     
  20. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    they are spectacularly mediocre. And in teh world of motherboards, mediocre is actually quite bad.
     
  21. PcH

    PcH Guest

    I don't have a True Power series, nice try though
     
  22. PcH

    PcH Guest

    :bowrofl:
     
  23. Serialpimp

    Serialpimp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0

    thanks,
    but I can't do anything,
    It spins up the CPU fan,
    I hear a hard drive noise and then its lights out,
    I don't get anything on the screen,
    sometimes its 10-15 seconds, sometimes its 3 seconds,
    I don't do it too much, cause I don't want to damage anything,
    I assume I can reset CMOS with a jumper or taking the battery out? I will look it up,

    I tried the two different Kingston HyperX sticks by themselves, and in different slots, but it had not effect, Might try one of my sticks from another computer tonight,

    Thanks,
    any other advice is appreciated,
     
  24. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    kingston :rofl:

    that system is a real winner, ya got there :mamoru:
     
  25. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    looks like the mobo is not posting.

    definitely reset cmos.
    troubleshoot by starting with the bare minimum. Remove any add-on cards, drives, case fans, etc.
    only install mobo, cpu/heatsink, 1 stick of ram, power supply, and vid card. (The vid card is optional and is just for visual confirmation that the system is posting. You can also verify if it's posting through beep codes from the pc speaker.)
    connect your case's power switch, reset switch, etc to the F_Panel header.
    verify all power supply connections (24-pin main, 4-pin CPU 12V, and the vid card).
    hook up monitor to vid card.
    boot

    if problem still exist, try the other stick of RAM. if still no go, try 1 stick from your other pc.
    work your way to the others (vid card, psu, cpu) till you find the problem.
     

Share This Page