New build, No Post, No display, No beeps

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by rawr, Apr 6, 2008.

  1. rawr

    rawr Trick Or Treat OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    7,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    D F DUB
    Just put together a new comp last night

    e2180
    gigabyte p35 ds3l
    7950gt
    2x1gb corsair xms2 ddr2800
    600w ultra psu
    2x old ide hdd

    When I press the power button everything gets power and all the fans start up but there nothing on the monitor but the monitor light goes from orange to green so I think its getting a signal
    What do I need to fix?

    I've already tried reseating the ram
    Starting with one stick of ram
    Reseating the vid card
    reseating the mobo
    reseating the cpu

    :hs:

    When I take both sticks of ram out and power on there is 3 beeps
     
  2. Mycophiles

    Mycophiles OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    15,131
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    bad HD maybe. Try another HD.

    edit: N/M it would still give you the bios display.

    try clearing C-mos.
     
  3. rawr

    rawr Trick Or Treat OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    7,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    D F DUB
    cleared cmos multiple times
    Still nothing
     
  4. StuckinFoned

    StuckinFoned Every morning is the same: I go to sleep and hope

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,375
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    i don't mean to sound like a bitch, but you've actually tried all the stuff you've said right? just want to make sure i don't waste time helping you trouble shoot it only to find out that when you actually go back and reseat ram etc it fixes it :p

    i've had bad experiences helping people troubleshoot new builds because they don't actually want to go back in there and mess with the hardware after they finally finish putting everything in:squint:
     
  5. rawr

    rawr Trick Or Treat OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    7,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    D F DUB
    Yea I've tried everything
    Been messing with it all day

    I guess something is just defective, im going to test my parts in a friends comp tommorow
     
  6. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    resolve grounding issues:
    take out everything from the case, put mobo on top of wood
    clear cmos
    install cpu + cooler, 1 stick of ram to slot 1, vid card, and case speaker (if any).
    hook up monitor to vid card.
    install PSU cables (mobo: 20+4 pin main connector and 4-pin CPU power connector; vid card: 6-pin PCI-E)
    boot

    if still no post, try a diff stick of ram
    if still no post, try a stick of ram to slot 3
    if still no post, try a known working ram
    if still no post, try a diff PSU.
    if still nothing, it's either the CPU or mobo.
     
  7. rawr

    rawr Trick Or Treat OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    7,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    D F DUB
    Is it possible for the vid card to be dead?
    Im pretty sure its either the vid card or the mobo now although it could possibly be the ram.
     
  8. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    If the video card were dead, it wouldn't turn the screen on.

    My guess is the BIOS was programmed wrong. Send the motherboard back.
     
  9. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    :rofl:

    You're an idiot. GTFO
     
  10. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm guessing that means you've never had a new motherboard show up with a faulty BIOS, then. Okay.

    And I'm not an idiot, I'm just drunk.
     
  11. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    the vid card and monitor are just for visual confirmation that the mobo is posting. it doesn't actually affect it. (that is unless the vid card is shorting out the system.)

    w/o the vid card and monitor, you can tell if it is posting through beep codes.
    you will need a pc/case speaker as i mentioned above.

    if you think your problem is a "display problem",... vid card, dvi cable, and the monitor are the ones you should check.
     
  12. rawr

    rawr Trick Or Treat OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    7,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    D F DUB
    Even without the vid card plugged in I still don't get any beep from the post
    So I guess its not the vid card
     
  13. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    A couple of things.

    It's possible it's booting up, and you're just not seeing it.
    Let's see if your monitor is working.

    First, unplug the video cable from the monitor and turn on the monitor.

    You should get a screen saying no signal present, or something similar.


    Also along with that, you want to put your hand on the hard drive when you turn the build on.
    In fact, it would be helpful if you pull the drive out of the case enclosure, and just have it connected by the cables.
    Then turn the comp on and see if you can feel the drive seeking. And if you turn the drive slightly back and forth in your hand, you should feel the resistance of centrifugal force.
    That will tell you if the drive is spooling up properly.

    And for the sake of clarity here, you plugged in the 4 pin cpu-power connector by the cpu, correct?
     
  14. Mike00

    Mike00 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    pa
    For problem likes this it's almost always the motherboard or ram in my experience.

    I'd bet money it's a bad mobo before the cpu. Test ram out with another pc if it works then I'd just replace the motherboard.
     
  15. redfred18t

    redfred18t New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Western MA
    this sounds crazy, but does your case have a case speaker and if so, is it connected? my antec 900 didn't have one so I had to go out and buy a mini speaker. that was the only thing I didn't like about the case
     
  16. rawr

    rawr Trick Or Treat OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    7,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    D F DUB
    If its actually booting the case speaker would beep once after the post wouldn't it?
     
  17. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yeah it should, but you never know. A flaky bios can do all sorts of things, although that's probably not the case here.
    Especially since you said you're getting beeps when you remove the memory.

    Did you check the hard drive and monitor anyway?
     
  18. rawr

    rawr Trick Or Treat OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    7,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    D F DUB
    Yep both are working
     
  19. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Funny how most everyone else has said it must be a BIOS issue, but when I said it, someone suggested that I GTFO with my idiocy. What's up with that?
     
  20. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    probably how you said it.

    corrupted cmos data != bios programmed wrong

    If Award Bios (one who made the DS3Ls bios) programmed it wrong, every DS3L board would have this problem.
    cmos holds bios data. any changes to the bios resides in cmos. resetting it will revert bios to it's default settings.
     
  21. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know all that, and I wasn't saying the user-editable data in the CMOS was corrupt, I was saying the BIOS programming in the CMOS was corrupt. In other words, the master copy back at the factory could be fine, but it didn't get copied correctly onto that specific motherboard's CMOS chip -- or as I said before, it got programmed wrong. (or flashed wrong, if you prefer.)
     
  22. jordanh

    jordanh New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Motherboards have a brand-new failure rate that is around 1 in 10,000 units. So I seriously doubt that the BIOS was programmed wrong. 98% of the time, if you build something properly with all brand new parts then it will work. Most of the time something doesn't work it's because someone doesn't know what they are doing or how to properly handle electronic components.

    That being said, try another video card first. It will be a lot easier to try than un-installing the motherboard.
     
  23. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    think about it.
    it is quite impossible for a manufacturer to "program it wrong". they have perfected this process and doing it in batches for years.

    what is more likely to happen is that they flashed/used a broken chip,... missed by quality control,... then installed it on this specifc gigabyte board.
    in other words,... the op got a bad board. you could have just said that.
     
  24. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I actually thought that's what you meant.
     
  25. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there really any point arguing about whether it could have been a defective chip or a defective flash or a cold solder joint? Yeah, QA/QC missed it, and unless he's got a socketed CMOS chip + a chip puller + a couple of weeks of spare time to send the chip back by itself, then he's going to have to return the board.

    Sue me for getting more detailed than I needed to.
     

Share This Page