new build help

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by milz_long, Nov 27, 2008.

  1. milz_long

    milz_long New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm going to be building a new machine very shortly and am not sure what procdessor would be the best for me. I will be playing some games on it, as well as just email stuff and internet surfing. The most intensive program i will be using on it will be AutoCad 2009. Now, I've been looking at the E8400 as well as the Q6600 and the Q8200 processors. Do very ma ny games even take advantage of 4 cores yet or would I be best to get the E8400 whick is very overclockable from what i've read? If I do go quad-core, should i go with the newer 8000 series over the 6600? Thanks for the help.
     
  2. bigboostdsm

    bigboostdsm New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    7,989
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rocky Top, TN
    I'm using an E8500, 4gb ram, asus p5q, and a 9600gt and it runs AutoCAD Architecture 09 and Civil 3D 09 with no problems. Hasn't hung on me once in 3 months using AutoCAD daily.
     
  3. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    any of those chips overclocks well
    e8400 should be fine

    if you want quad, get the Q6600 or the Q9000s, not the Q8200.
     
  4. milz_long

    milz_long New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are the Q8200's no good or...? I've read that the dual-cores are vetter for gaming? Is this still true? Do many games take advantage of four-cores yet?? Thanks.
     
  5. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    the good thing about that Q8200 is that it's 45nm
    the bad thing is that it has a 7X multiplier (the Q6600 has 9X)

    currently in gaming,... clock speed matters than # of cores
     
  6. thinkhard

    thinkhard OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    I am using almost the same setup. E8500, 4gb ram, asus P5Q Deluxe, and a 4870 1gb
     
  7. milz_long

    milz_long New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    How's that setup working for you? Can you play all the newer games with fairly high detail and frame rates??
     
  8. bigboostdsm

    bigboostdsm New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    7,989
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rocky Top, TN
    I don't play games but I can run 1080p bluray rips no problem. Once starcraft 2 comes out I'll find out how it handles games :bigthumb:
     

Share This Page