New browser problem

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Pioneer, Jan 24, 2005.

  1. Pioneer

    Pioneer Are you annoyed? You will be.

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2001
    Messages:
    96,129
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    PNW
  2. UsualSuspect

    UsualSuspect Sic Semper Tyrannis

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2000
    Messages:
    3,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    United States of America
    Try going into Windows Explorer, Click on Tools, Folder Options, File Types tab. Then find all apps that use the internet (there a several HTTP ones in XP) select one and then click on the Advanced tab. Then change the default proram from IE to Firefox.



    EDIT: Try this one first and go from there. URL:HyperText Transfer Protocol
     
  3. Pioneer

    Pioneer Are you annoyed? You will be.

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2001
    Messages:
    96,129
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    PNW
    I'm running Windows 98 -- it doesn't give an Advanced tab :hs:
     
  4. Pioneer

    Pioneer Are you annoyed? You will be.

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2001
    Messages:
    96,129
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    PNW
    BTW, the Hyper Text Transfer Protocol is there twice


    Hyper Text Transfer Protocol
    and
    Hyper Text Transfer Protocol with privacy
     
  5. UsualSuspect

    UsualSuspect Sic Semper Tyrannis

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2000
    Messages:
    3,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    United States of America
    For Win98. Tools, Folder Options, File Type, then select HTML Document. hen click on Edit, then click Edit again, then change the "Application" to Firefox by clicking on the Browse button.

    Then do the same for Hyper Text Transfer Protocol
     
  6. Pioneer

    Pioneer Are you annoyed? You will be.

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2001
    Messages:
    96,129
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    PNW
    OK, I don't have an HTML Document but there is an MHTML Document that WAS using IE

    There is an HTML Application but that uses MHTSA
     
  7. Pioneer

    Pioneer Are you annoyed? You will be.

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2001
    Messages:
    96,129
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    PNW
    And Yahoo still opens with IE (a message just came in)
     
  8. Pioneer

    Pioneer Are you annoyed? You will be.

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2001
    Messages:
    96,129
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    PNW
    BTW, IE is completely useless at this point -- anything you try to do , it redirects itself to about:blank
     
  9. UsualSuspect

    UsualSuspect Sic Semper Tyrannis

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2000
    Messages:
    3,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    United States of America
    I saw in your other thread that you have set Firefox to default browser. I just did Tools. General, checked "FireFox should check to see if it is default..." and then I clicked "Check Now".

    I then went to Outlook and clicked a link in an email. It opened with FireFox whereas it used to open with IE. If you have done the above and are still having it open in IE I have no other ideas. :dunno:
     
  10. UsualSuspect

    UsualSuspect Sic Semper Tyrannis

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2000
    Messages:
    3,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    United States of America
    So when you type in an address it goes to about:blank? You could restore defaults in the File Types section.
     
  11. Pioneer

    Pioneer Are you annoyed? You will be.

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2001
    Messages:
    96,129
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    PNW
    OK, I've restored the defaults which fixes IE but the 'opening with IE' still exists.

    While we're at it, I don't use Outlook, How do I set my 'default' email to either Hotmail or Yahoo?
     
  12. UsualSuspect

    UsualSuspect Sic Semper Tyrannis

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2000
    Messages:
    3,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    United States of America

    I am pretty sure that you cannot set the mail default to a web based email program (Hotmail / Yahoo). With Hotmail you used to be able to put the mail server info into Outlook / Express but I think you have to pay to be able to do that now.
     
  13. Pioneer

    Pioneer Are you annoyed? You will be.

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2001
    Messages:
    96,129
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    PNW
    Also, the reason I ignore the IE window is ... if I close it my ISP tries to log me off.
     
  14. Pioneer

    Pioneer Are you annoyed? You will be.

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2001
    Messages:
    96,129
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    PNW
    Fixed a few problems with a new computer. It still opens IE (it'll work if I HAVE to use it) but I just ignore it and open Firefox and yahoo mail opens in a new tab.

    New comp is also in my room (instead of the living room) so certain people can't/don't use it.
     

Share This Page