New boxes v. SGI rackmount + duallie duallie

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by eighteen_psi, Aug 24, 2005.

  1. eighteen_psi

    eighteen_psi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    925
    So I spent some more time working on my deskside workstation/rendergarden rack. Got a lot more done than I figured I would so I figured I'd whore up some in-progress pics.

    Got a total of 5 of these SGI cases now (sold 4 to a friend, I had 9). I still need rails for the other 2 in the deskside rack (top is on a shelf, bottom sits on the UPSes for now) too.

    Anyway, as it sits, the rack contains, from the top down:

    - Sennheiser HD580's
    - 160GB External HDD, Lacie DDS4 SCSI tape, Card Reader, WD 120GB External HDD, MX700 Base
    - Bay Networks 350T-HD 10/100 Switch
    - Cable Management Rack complete w/ 1970something mustang pony
    - Single Athlon MP 2400+ @ 2250Mhz on MSI K7D Master, 1GB RAM, stuff (waiting on a new 2nd)
    - Dual Xeon 2.2 on Supermicro X5DA8, 2GB RAM, 15K SCSI, QuadroFX, stuff
    - Empty Case (will be a dual P3 box when I finish finding the parts for it, either 866's or 1.0's. Will become another dual Xeon if/when my Intel 7505VB2 board every gets fixed.
    - APC Smart UPS, 1000VA
    - APC Smart UPS, 1000VA

    On a rotating ball-bearing base.

    The IBM Netvista on the side is a P3 866/512MB box.

    Pics so far:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    And the pic everyone has probably seen of my mini that sits across the room, since it's also a player in this network rendering clusterfuck:
    [​IMG]

    Yep. Enjoy :big grin:
     
  2. eighteen_psi

    eighteen_psi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    925
    Not in the least :hsugh:
    I do motion graphics, video editing and graphic design professionally.
    I enjoy the hardware too, sure, but I have it because I use it daily to make my living.

    If you don't like the pics, sorry :greddy: Someone else might.

    Edit: Maybe I misunderstood the question.... :hsughno:
     
  3. RobsMob

    RobsMob Guest

    What do you use that knob in the last pic for? I've seen those, but have yet to come up with a good reason for me to get one.
     
  4. eighteen_psi

    eighteen_psi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    925
    I use the knob for all sorts of stuff. Without an app open, it controls volume but it can be programmed by application. In final cut pro, as you see there, it jogs frame by frame. If you press it and turn, it jogs by 10 frames. Pressing starts/stops playback.

    In photoshop, I have it set to control brush size with a turn, brush opacity with a push-turn, and pressing and holding moves the view around the canvas (like spacebar).

    I used it on my main box before I got the mac and am probably going to get another one.
     
  5. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    who makes this knob? :) sounds kinda cool.

    and that is one clean organized desk. unlike mine.
     
  6. RobsMob

    RobsMob Guest


    Very cool. Link?
     
  7. eighteen_psi

    eighteen_psi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    925
  8. badguy106

    badguy106 Location:Tn

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    809
    Likes Received:
    0
  9. RobsMob

    RobsMob Guest

  10. PeacefulAnarchy

    PeacefulAnarchy You get one for the money, two for the show, three

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, NY, USA
    You got any spare SGI cases :bigthumb:?
     
  11. eighteen_psi

    eighteen_psi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    925
    I actually do...I have 2 more that are currently without immeditate plans. The guy I sold my other 4 to is using 2 at the moment...he may have the other 2 available.

    Whether either of us want to sell them is another matter :mamoru:

    Maybe...
     
  12. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Wait, so are those actual SGI machines, or just homebrews in SGI cases?

    Cool either way, but much cooler if they're real SGIs :cool:
     
  13. eighteen_psi

    eighteen_psi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    925
    They're all homebrew...nothing in any spec close to those was ever made.
    They would have been dual P3 graphics servers had they been used for their original SGI application.

    Besides..I got the best thing about an SGI in the current decade...the looks :mamoru:

    Their era of ownage is long since over :wavey:

    The best thing they have going is their Itanium2 cluster rigs...that anyone with money and some know how could build themselves. The outstanding gov't contracts are about all that's keeping them in business since they started having to sell comodity parts in pretty boxes to keep up :greddy:
     

Share This Page